Posted by: Hallie | August 30, 2009

Weighing In and Eating (Peachy) Waffles

I can’t believe I’ve been doing my bootcamp program for a month! Honestly, I’m ready for it to be over, but I haven’t reached my goals yet, so I’ll keep on trucking. I’m having trouble dealing with the fact that my eating plan goes against many of my personal beliefs about food/hunger/losing weight, etc. But this program has produced results for so many people, so I’m going to keep going…I can do anything for 8 more weeks! I love the tough workouts; however, I can see that the the restriction with the meal plan is potentially taking me to that unhealthy place mentally that I don’t want to go.

In fact, I had a panic attack the other night (over a bunch of things) and Mitch pretty told me if I didn’t get a handle on my emotions, he thinks I need to drop out of the program. Hearing him say that was a bit of a wake-up call. I’m not a quitter, so I’m going to keep it up, but I’m going to try REALLY hard not to let the bad thoughts get to me. It’s been a really interesting process so far, that’s for sure.

So given all that, here are my results so far, from last week’s weigh-in:

Weight Loss: 5.2 lbs
Fat Loss: 11.77 lbs (my fat loss was greater last time but I think the first number was wrong)
Navel Inches Loss: 6.75
Total Inches Loss: 17.25

So that’s down .8 pounds from last time, and another 1.75 inches off my waist. Since my overall goal is 1 lb per week, losing 5 pounds in one month is great, but I was hoping the weight loss would be greater. Other people in my program lost 3-6 pounds these last two weeks, and I’m really bad about comparing myself to others.  This next weigh-in will be interesting as well, since I have some friends coming from college to visit over Labor Day weekend and we’ll be going out on the town and such, but I’m going to do the best I can and hope for the best.

Last week I made French toast since I didn’t have the waffles called for on my Sunday meal plan. Well I finally bought some (Vans whole-grain) and let me say, it’s been FOREVER since I had a frozen waffle! I forgot how good they are. I topped my waffles with a homemade and delicious peach syrup. 

waffle breakfast

Sugar-free Cinnamon Peach Sauce for Waffles/Pancakes
Adapted from allrecipes.com

INGREDIENTS

  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 tablespoon Stevia
  • 2 teaspoons cornstarch
  • 1 healthy dash cinnamon
  • 1/3 cup chopped fresh peaches
  • 1/8 teaspoon vanilla

DIRECTIONS

  1. In a saucepan, bring water, sugar, cornstarch and cinnamon to a boil; boil for 1 minute. Add peaches. Bring to a boil; boil another 1-2 minutes. Remove from the heat; stir in extract. Serve warm.

So good! I think it’d be great with other fruit (pear, apple, banana?) instead of the peaches. I ate the waffles with the rest of my peach and three slices of uncured turkey bacon from Trader Joe’s. Good stuff for a Sunday morning! This is probably the best meal I’ll have all week.

What’s the best meal you’ll have this week (or had last week)?

Responses

  1. Good for you for trecking on. Keep in mind if you are one of the smaller people in the program, you will loose slower. When you have less to loose it’s much more difficult to loose it. Also, men loose weight much faster.

    My favorite meal this week was on Monday. I went to a nice Italian restaurant and had wood fire pizza and calamari! Weird combo, but very tasty.

  2. Wow. Great progress. 17.25 inches in 1 month? That is amazing. You need to teach me how now.

  3. We must be thinking alike somehow through this crazy blog land :)

    I had those waffles for the first time for breakfast today :)

    and we asked the same question about fav food of the week, too :) haha!!

    To answer your question, my fav food of the week was my dark chocolate pb oats yesterday :) All in the dark chocolate PB jar! GOOD stuff! :)

  4. PS – congrats on the weight loss!!! Awesome!!

  5. Wow…this looks delicious! I think I’ll make an attempt at making this next weekend..thanks for sharing the recipe!

  6. Keep up the good work! I’m always so impressed by people who do bootcamp programs, way to go! The best meal I had this week was a homemade margherita pizza, however I am planning on making a spaghetti squash pasta tonight which could take first place! I’ll be posting about how it goes on my blog!

  7. great job! have you ever tried french toasting waffles? caitlin on heatlhytippingpoint has done it – basically you make ur french toast dipping mexiture with eggs, vanilla, cinnamon and all that jazz, then you dip your waffles in on both sides to soak up juiices and “fry” in a skillet to make french toast waffles!!!! the best!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

