Posted by: Hallie | January 28, 2009

Not my best stir fry

Two nights, two blog posts! Not bad if I do say so myself.

For dinner tonight, I was on my own since Mitch has night class. When I’m cooking for one, I either a) get lazy and eat something from the freezer, e.g., the amazing vegan enchiladas from Trader Joe’s, or b) I cook something for myself with leftovers for lunch the next day. That’s what I did tonight.

For Christmas/Hanukkah, Mitch gave me a wok and I love it.  B.W. (before wok) veggies would go flying around the stovetop, but A.W. (after wok), no vegetable is spared from the heat. I also recently joined a CSA (more on that in a later post) and I love how I can just throw everything into the wok and create dinner out of it. I’m getting the stir-fry method down, or at least I thought I was.

I was going to type up the recipe, but honestly, it wasn’t my best stir fry. Basically I cooked some garlic and ginger together, then added onions, celery, bell peppers, and bok choi, in that order. I seasoned the mix with rice wine vinegar and soy sauce, and then at the end of cooking I added 1/2 tsp. each chili oil and sesame oil. I cooked 1/3 c. quinoa and crumbled up a turkey burger patty, and had half of each with my stir fry. The veggie mix wasn’t quite right (too much celery), I cut the peppers too big, didn’t cook the celery enough, etc.

So it wasn’t that tasty, but it was good enough and now lunch for tomorrow is made! I topped it off with Sriracha which pretty much makes everything better.

I also decided to try my hand at food photography. Umm….let’s just say I have a lot to learn!

Here are the veggies, mid-cooking
mid-cook

And the final dish. How the heck do I make this look better!?!
stir-fry-done

Now it’s time to make some tea and hang out with the DVR. Tomorrow I’m going to an event for young nonprofit professionals and Thursday is a work party which means no cooking for Hallie. I’ll figure out something to post, though. Photos of my puppy, perhaps? She’s not shy!

Leave a Reply

Categories

