Posted by: Hallie | January 29, 2009

Veggie-ful Wednesdays

Every Wednesday I receive a box of locally grown, organic produce. I’m part of a CSA and I have been recommending it to everyone since I started it, around Christmas. CSAs can be pricey, but mine is very reasonable, and I split it with a friend. This week, I got:

  • Apples
  • Basil
  • Bell Peppers
  • Beets
  • Cabbage
  • Carrots
  • Chard
  • Onions
  • Parsley
  • Tangelos
  • Strawberries
  • Sweet Potatoes

I have been doing more cooking, and more creative cooking, than ever before. I’ve tried new vegetables (radishes, chard) that I would never have picked up at the store. And they taste amazing…which makes sense when you realize that the produce was in the ground (or on the tree) less than 24 hours ago. I tried to take a few pics, but they didn’t turn out so hot (again…darn).

Last week, I gave away the beets, but I’m going to try them this week. I hope they’re good! Now, my questions are:

1. How in the world do I use up parsley? I could go through tons of cilantro, but parsley gets me stuck.
2. Is a tangelo a cross between a tangerine and an orange? Suppose I could look that one up, huh?

Here are some posts I’m thinking about writing in the next week or so. Hope they sound interesting!
My weightloss story
Super Bowl party with (I’ll admit, not healthy) recipes
Farmer’s Market photos (if I make it there)
Healthy twist recipe: BBQ Bacon Meatloaf

Responses

  1. aw man- i would be so excited to open my door to a box of produce! i dont want to pay for it though, lol.

    Kelly Turner
    http://www.everygymsnightmare.com

  2. […] Rainy-day Red Lentil Curry Happy Friday! This weekend is supposed to be rainy, and I’m kinda looking forward to an excuse to lay low. (I know rain is nothing compared to the weather elsewhere, but this is San Diego and we’re babies.) Tomorrow I’m planning on cleaning out our pantry; it’s getting so disorganized and that drives me nuts. I’m hoping I’ll find some long-lost treasures and get inspired for new recipes. Having this blog makes me want to cook new things! Well, that and the CSA. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

