Posted by: Hallie | January 31, 2009

Healthy Twist: Barbecue Bacon Meatloaf

I uploaded this recipe from Word, and now the font’s all small. How do I fix that? I get so annoyed when I’m learning a new technology…I want to know it all NOW! Ok, rant aside.

Tonight’s recipe was created because Mitch asked me to find a recipe for BBQ Bacon Meatlof. So I hit the all-mighty web, and came up with something that looked good. Of course, I had to tweak it to “Hallie standards.” The first time I made it, I used regular ol’ pork bacon, and it was so good! But that’s for special occasions, or at least a day when we’re not having a food-and-drink fest the next day.

Barbecue (Bacon) Meatloaf

Adapted from here.

  • 4 strips lean bacon or turkey bacon (I didn’t use this tonight)
  • 1 ¼ pounds lean ground turkey
  •  1 medium onion, finely chopped 
  •  1/2 red bell pepper, finely chopped
  •  ½ cup oats
  • 2 egg whites
  • 1/3 cup Parmesan cheese 
  • 1 teaspoon Cajun seasonings
  • 1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1.5 tablespoons nonfat milk
  • ½-2/3 cup barbecue sauce (Trader Joe’s brand)

1.     Heat oven to 350°. Line a baking pan with foil and lightly oil the foil or spray with nonstick cooking spray.

2.     If using the bacon, cook on a paper plate in the microwave for about 1 or 2 minutes.

3.     In a large bowl, combine the ground turkey, onion, bell pepper, oats, egg, cheese, Cajun seasonings, Worcestershire sauce, salt and pepper, and milk. Put the mixture on the prepared foil-lined baking pan and shape into a loaf.

4.     Spread barbecue sauce over the loaf and arrange the bacon strips over the top.

5.     Bake until bacon is crispy and meat loaf is firm, about 1 hour to 1 hour and 10 minutes.

6.     Let stand for 10 minutes before slicing or moving to a serving platter. Serves 5.

My Healthy Twists:
Omitted bacon. Or I would have used all-natural turkey bacon.
Omitted salt from the original recipe. Between the Cajun seasoning, cheese, and Worcestershire  sauce, it doesn’t need more salt
Oats instead of breadcrumbs. I also used less than the 2/3 recipe called for, since I was using a little less meat
Ground turkey instead of beef/pork, and I used 1.25 pounds instead of 1.5
Nonfat milk instead of whole (and less)

A note about ground turkey: I think for meatloaf, it’s better to use ground turkey than ground turkey breast. Yes, there are more calories and fat grams, but it’s still pretty lean, low in saturated fat, and much less dry than ground turkey breast. A Healthy Twist is no good if it makes for a yucky recipe!

Here’s what it looked like, out of the oven:

dscf16501

And here’s my (dark) plate. My favorite part of the meatloaf is the end piece. In fact, I went back for a sliver more…from the other end 🙂

meatloaf plated

Verdict: It was good! The barbecue sauce was a sweeter variety, so you can vary the flavor based on the sauce used. The boy liked it too, which is always a plus. And now there are leftovers, which means: meatloaf sandwiches!

Tomorrow is a big day over here. In the morning, I’m either going hiking or running. Then, we’re hosting a Super Bowl Party, and I’ll just say this: when it comes to parties or football, we don’t mess around. We’re expecting 10 to 14 people in our little condo. A pitcher of my sangria is chilling in the fridge. Before the game, my plan is to write a pre-game post with our menu, some photos of the spread and the TVs (yes, plural) and a recipe for Asian-style Lil Smokies.

Responses

  1. For a great twist that helps you portion and seriously cuts cooking time, get an extra-large muffin pan. Line each muffin hole with a slice of bacon, wrapping it around the inside. Then fill with meatloaf mix. Bake on 350 for 15 minutes. Pull out, add the barbecue sauce and a little reduced fat shredded cheddar, then bake another 15 minutes. Make sure to Pam the pans for easy clean up. Bonus: they fit perfectly on hamburger buns for meatloaf sandwich goodness. Sometimes for variety, I make a couple minis like this, a couple with marinara and fresh parm, and a couple with gravy and mushrooms, like a meatloaf sampler.

  2. Oh, and as an aside, if you use regular muffin pans in the same method it’s a great way to make sliders!


Leave a Reply

Categories

