Posted by: Hallie | February 2, 2009

Party Recap and Recovery Day

Our last football party (for awhile, anyway) has come and gone. On one hand, it’s sad, but considering how messy the condo gets, and the fact that the food- and drink-fests are not great on the body, I am a-ok with it being over!

Take a look at the TV set up. We had four TVs around the house. One on the balcony for those guests who smoke, two in the living room (one facing the couch and one facing the dining-room table)
2 tvs

And, one facing the bathroom. More for the laugh factor than anything else, but I’ll admit, having entertainment while washing my hands was pretty cool.
bathroom tv

Yesterday went well. We had so much food, it was insane. In addition to the food/drinks we prepared, our guests brought lots of beer, onion-cheese bread, a Costco pizza, and three kinds of artichoke dip! Yes, it was Battle of the Artichoke Dip at the condo. I had my favorite, but I’ll never tell! This is just a tiny sampling of the spread:

PARTY food

Hummus tip: I always take prepared hummus, transfer it to a serving dish, and then sprinkle the top with paprika and then a tiny drizzle of extra-virgin olive oil. It makes it look homemade and makes the veggie platter look that much prettier!

I would say I tried to practice moderation, but that would probably be a lie. At least I used a little trick to control my sangria consumption: I filled my cup with ice, then about 2/3 full of club soda, and then sangria. Doing that, I could drink the whole afternoon but I don’t feel like death today. I don’t feel great, but at least I’m able to function. That’s probably because I didn’t spend too much time here:
bar

I’m still going to take it easy today. Between the all my exercise, hosting, eating and drinking this weekend, my body needs some recovery time. Depending on how I feel, I might go to yoga later today. And I have to go grocery shopping because starting tomorrow, I’m doing this cleanse that this blogger found so I need to stock up on healthy food. I’ve never done a cleanse before, but I know I need it so I hope I am able to stick with it. I’m also having dinner with a girlfriend tonight, so all in all, not bad for a three-day weekend!

Responses

  1. oooh!!! So glad I found your blog! Thanks for stopping by!Yea, I think you just need to find the right flavor for you-bec I swear there’s a lara lover inside all of us….:P

  2. My hubby would like that TV set-up!

    I like your tip on the hummus…I should have done that to the stuff I brought (just for myself) for lunch today. A spinkle of paprika would be colorful, too! 🙂

  3. haha your party looked a lot like the one i went to. cant go wrong with captain mo!

    Kelly Turner
    http://www.everygymsnightmare.com

  4. Thanks for the comment on my blog! I love yours! We have a similar TV set up, but its for video game purposes… not football.

  5. 4 tvs?? you guys are SERIOUS about your football!

    (v crafty tip on the hummus!)

  6. […] I didn’t want to go shopping for a bunch of ingredients. We had ricotta cheese leftover from our Super Bowl party, so I decided to make stuffed French toast with ricotta instead of the usual (and gross!) cream […]

  7. […] Friday and great weekend! I’ll try to take some photos of our crazy party spread. (If you read my Super Bowl post, you know we know how to throw a […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

