Posted by: Hallie | February 4, 2009

Veggie-ful Wednesday, week 2

Tonight I picked up my CSA delivery. This week, we got:

  • Apples
  • Bell Peppers
  • Beets
  • Bok Choy
  • Cabbage
  • Chard
  • Collard greens
  • Dill
  • Oranges
  • Parsley
  • Spring Mix
  • Strawberries

I gave my friend the cabbage and the parsley, because I just can’t go through it that fast! I still have 1/2 a cabbage from last week and I’ve started freezing the parsley. It doesn’t help that in preparation for my cleanse, I went to the store on Monday and bought even more produce. Now I feel pressured to eat it all before it goes bad. I hate wasting food! Does an overstocked fridge stress anyone else out?

DSCF1677

Mmmm spring mix!
DSCF1681

As I’ve said before, belonging to a CSA means creativity in the kitchen is required. I baked some halibut for dinner tonight (totally overcooked it, oh well) and I knew I wanted to use my new dill in a sauce. Since I can’t have butter this week, I knew the sauce would have to be yogurt based.

I used this recipe (well, not the chicken part, obv) and although it was salt-free, it was pretty good. I mixed the leftovers with shrimp, bell pepper, quinoa, and sliced green onions for tomorrow’s lunch. Sounds weird, but I think it’ll be tasty.

I also had a kitchen disaster when mixing the sauce in the blender. Somehow the bottom of the blender, the part with the blade, stuck to the device so basically my sauce fell right through the blender. It’s hard to explain without a picture, which I forgot to take. So that was a fun mess to clean up, but at least I salvaged most of the sauce. Thank goodness I wasn’t making a smoothie! I want one of these so bad but they are just a tad out of my price range.

This week at work feels so short since I took Monday off and tomorrow I’m doing CPR/First Aid training all day long. At least that means it’s almost another weekend!

Responses

  1. oooo so many veggies- and strawberries, i havent had those i nages.

    sucks about your blender- thats weird.

    Kelly Turner
    http://www.everygymsnightmare.com


Leave a Reply

Categories

