Posted by: Hallie | February 6, 2009

Rainy-day Red Lentil Curry

Happy Friday! This weekend is supposed to be rainy, and I’m kinda looking forward to an excuse to lay low. (I know rain is nothing compared to the weather elsewhere, but this is San Diego and we’re babies.) Tomorrow I’m planning on cleaning out our pantry; it’s getting so disorganized and that drives me nuts. I’m hoping I’ll find some long-lost treasures and get inspired for new recipes. Having this blog makes me want to cook new things! Well, that and the CSA.

I wanted to make something delicious for dinner that would leave me leftovers. Tomorrow night, Mitch’s mom is coming over and he is making chicken Parmesan. Minus the mozzarella cheese on top, it’s SO good and it would be hard to resist without something equally yummy for me to eat while I’m still on my clean-eating cleanse.

This curry recipe is really healthy: low fat, lots of vitamins, protein, and fiber. And while the recipe was more time consuming then I normally cook on weeknights, it was very easy to prepare,

I don’t know the rule about reprinting recipes. I did change this a bit, but not a TON, so I don’t know at what point it’s cool and at what point it’s plagiarism. Veganomicon is an awesome cookbook, and I am no where near vegan. So buy it and then I won’t feel bad!

Red-Lentil Cauliflower Curry
adapted from Veganomicon

  • 1 T. olive oil
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 large jalapeno pepper, minced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp. jarred ginger (I don’t have fresh on hand, I should get some)
  • 1 medium sweet potato, chopped
  • 1 T. curry powder
  • 1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • ½–1 tsp. ground cumin
  • 3/4 c. red lentils, sorted and rinsed
  • 2 c. water
  • 1 lb cauliflower, trimmed and sliced into small florets (about ¾ of a medium-sized cauliflower)
  • 2 T. chopped fresh cilantro (I didn’t have any)
  • 1.5 T. lime juice
  • 1.5 tsp. salt (optional)

Have all of the ingredients chopped and readily at hand (uhh…trust me). In a large stockpot, heat the oil over medium heat. Sauté the onion until tender and translucent, 5 to 7 minutes. Add the garlic, ginger and jalapeno and sauté for 1 minute. Add spices and stir-fry for 30 seconds, then add the potato and stir-fry for another minute

Slowly pour in the water, then stir in the lentils. Cover the pot; raise the heat to high, boil for 1 minute. Give the mixture a stir, then cover the pot and lower the heat to medium-low. Allow the lentils to simmer for 10 to 12 minutes. They should turn light yellow and look mushy.

Add the cauliflower florets, stirring to coat with the lentils. Partially cover and simmer for 20 to 25 minutes, until the cauliflower is tender but not completely falling apart. Remove from the heat and stir in the chopped cilantro, lime juice, and salt.

curry cooking

Allow the curry to sit, covered, for about 15 minutes before serving to allow the flavors to blend and the mixture to cool slightly. Serve with rice or naan or what I used, quinoa. Serves 3

Verdict? It was GREAT! The mix of spices made the flavor really complex, and the heat level was perfect, for me (I had a giant jalapeno and used hot curry powder). I think next time I’ll use vegetable stock instead of water to add a touch of salty flavor, but it didn’t really need it. I have collard greens and chard from the CSA, so I cooked them with a little black pepper and red-wine vinegar to go alongside the curry.

curry

Time to cuddle under a blanket and to catch up on Grey’s Anatomy. 🙂

Responses

  1. Are you kidding?! This is on my meal plan for TONIGHT! I’m glad to hear it turned out so great!

  2. […] I had leftovers for dinner. I had leftover curry from Friday with leftover green beans from last night. Still good, but next time I’ll freeze some […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

