Posted by: Hallie | February 8, 2009

Perfect Roasted Vegetables, with a Side of Pizza

I finished my detoxorCrap Free Week*, even though it was only 5 days. I actually ended it Saturday night when I had a serving of chocolate pudding and Cool Whip made by Mitch’s mom. It was good, but it gave me a bit of a stomachache, so I think the cleanse served its purpose. I’m going to take from it the knowledge that I:

  • CAN turn down yummy treats when I want to
  • CAN live without caffeine and chocolate
  • Will eat less meat and more fish, especially for lunches
  • Should bring extra food to work in case I’m hungry, so I don’t search the Museum for snacks (=cookies)
  • Will drink more water, which is always harder for me on weekends

So, mission accomplished! I could have lasted a whole week, but I was over it, honestly. It’s time-consuming doing all that planning for meals!

Tonight, we’re having roasted green beans and carrots with a “kicked-up” pizza. I like taking raw dough and making pizza from basically scratch, and that’s the healthiest way to go. When we don’t want to get that fancy, we buy the cheapest thinnest-crust frozen pizza (usually pepperoni, I’ll admit) and load it up with fresh vegetables/herbs: bell peppers, onions, tomatoes, zucchini, raw jalapeños, scallions, basil, cilantro, etc. (If you try this trick. Mitch wants me to suggest you take the pepperoni off first, then load up your veggies and top with the pepperoni so the meat gets nice and crispy)

How to Make Perfect Roasted Vegetables

I absolutely love oven-roasted vegetables, and over the past few years I’ve perfected the technique (or at least, the way I like ‘em). This may seem obvious to some, but I’ve screwed it up plenty so I though my tips might help someone else.

Vegetables to try roasting: zucchini, broccoli, cauliflower, red or yellow onions, green beans (trust me, they’re amazing), carrots, bell peppers, sweet potatoes…and on and on. Brussels sprouts are amazing too but I haven’t had much luck roasting them myself.

Here’s what I do:

  1. Line a sheet pan (or 2) with foil and spray with Pam or olive oil if you have a Misto.
  2. Preheat the oven to 425 degrees. I’ll go anywhere from 400 to 435, but 425 usually works best.
  3. Cut your vegetables BIG. Larger than you normally would. They’ll shrink down a lot.
  4. Put your cut vegetables in a large bowl and toss with olive oil, salt (if desired), and spices. Or if you Misto, lay them on the pan and spray liberally, then add spices. The 21-seasoning blend from Trader Joe’s is perfect for this.
  5. Important: spread all your vegetables out in a single layer on the pan and try to spread them out. Use 2 pans if you need to. Otherwise, your vegetables will steam and get mushy. I’d still eat it like that, but we want caramelized goodness here.
  6. Cook your vegetables for about 20 minutes and then check on them. Take them out of the oven (be careful!) and flip them around, if you wish.
  7. If they don’t look done or you’re doing something like potatoes or carrots, they’ll probably need another 20 minutes. Otherwise, give it another 10 to 15 minutes until they are as brown as you like. Serve and enjoy!

Tonight I roasted green beans and carrots. I’ll have leftovers cold over a salad tomorrow.

Here are the goods, going into the oven:
pre roast

And the finished product:
post roast

What are your favorite vegetables to roast? I need suggestions for new ones!

*If I missed any bloggers who also did a version of this plan, I apologize!

Responses

  1. Hey Hallie! Thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂

    I have to admit… I’ve never roasted vegetables before, I’ve always steamed them. I have some veggies in my fridge that are calling out for the oven though…

  2. I’m so glad you had a good crap-free BUSINESS week! 🙂 It sounds like you have some good goals to work towards!
    I adore roasted onions – red, sweet white, or yellow – squash, bell peppers, sweet potatoes, etc.

  3. Crap free weeks sounds like a success! You know what I like to roast? Cauliflower. It is actually quite good. Carrots are my favorite though.

  4. […] dinner was inspired by two fellow bloggers, Hallie and Andrea. First, I made my first-ever batch of roasted veggies. Clearly, I’ve been missing […]

  5. I stumbled to your blog and wanted to tell you all veggies are great roasted! I love broccoli, eggplant, brussel sprouts, asparagus, squash, tomatoes the list goes on and on. I never liked brussel sprouts or asparagus until I had them roasted


Leave a Reply

Categories

