Posted by: Hallie | February 10, 2009

Flax-crusted Tilapia Experiment (& mini-giveaway!)

“Do-do-do, just dance!”
I love that song. Perfect for jamming to during a workout.

Warning: I am a bit of a tree-hugger/environmentalist. My blog posts may reflect this from time to time. I partially blame my place of employment. Our maintenance crew uses green cleaning products, we recycle anything and everything, we don’t sell bottled water, etc. etc. etc. Oh and we had vegan lasagna at our holiday party. Beat that!

One of the reasons I basically stopped buying fish was the sustainability concerns that exist with certain species.

Some of the key problems that help us evaluate whether a fishery is sustainable include the level of bycatch observed, the fishing methods and their impact, if it is farmed—how it is farmed, and how well the fishery or aquaculture operation is managed. With nearly 75% of the world’s fisheries either fully fished or overfished, these issues are more important than ever.

We believe that seafood from sources, either fished or farmed, that can exist over the long-term without compromising species’ survival or the health of the surrounding ecosystem is sustainable. We favor conservation of the resource in the face of scientific uncertainty.

Monterey Bay Aquarium’s Seafood Watch Program

I had planned to cook this glazed salmon recipe for dinner tonight, and then use the leftovers for lunch tomorrow. I brought my Seafood Watch pocket guide to the grocery store, and realized all they had was Atlantic salmon, which was on the “Avoid” list for Western states. So plans had to change. Tilapia was on the “Best Choices” list, so I went with that.

I decided to try something I don’t think I’ve seen before: using ground flax seeds instead of breadcrumbs. I figured that way, I’d get some of the Omega-3s I was missing from not having salmon.

It was a success! I used 1/2 tablespoon each ground flax and Parmesan cheese, and sprinkled the fillet in lemon juice before dredging it in the mixture. After a few minutes in a pan with 1 teaspoon of oil, I was done.

I served it with quinoa (cooked in “no-chicken” broth…so good!) and sautéed greens with onions. I topped it off with Sriracha, which goes with pretty much EVERYTHING.
tilapia w flax

I’m going to try this again using egg to coat the fish because not all the “breading” stuck. I’ll post the recipe when it’s perfect. But it was crispy, the fish was light and flaky, and the cheese added a nice salty flavor.

Giveaway! Seafood Guide Pocket Watch Cards

I’m not sure if anyone will even want these, but I have about 5 extra seafood watch cards (the girl who gave them to me was excited). Stick them in your wallet and when you shop for seafood, you can use the info to make sustainable choices. My cards for the Western region, so check out Seafood Watch Guide by Region to see if you could use it. You can download them for free (for all areas of the country) at that link, but I have nice, color, wallet-size foldable cards.

If you want one, leave me a comment and I’ll send them to the first 5 people who respond. Basically I’m just trying to make sure they go to people who will use them, and I’m saving you the paper of printing it out (there goes that hippie thing again…).

Responses

  1. Hallie, this sounds delicious! I especially enjoyed the photos. Thanks for sharing these ideas for healthy eating.

  2. Flax-crusted fish is a fabulous idea! I’ll have to try this.

    I’m in Atlantic Canada, so I don’t think the card would be very handy, but I checked out the website. I’ll definitely be referring back to it!

  3. Tryingforatri:
    Glad you checked out the site. I guess my giveaway didn’t work, haha. I’ll have to give away something that isn’t only good for a few states and available to anyone online for the next one 😉

  4. haha that song ALWAYS gets stuck in my head! 🙂

    Love your blog!


Leave a Reply

Categories

