Posted by: Hallie | February 16, 2009

Homemade Soup, Stay-at-Home Day

It’s rainy and chilly in San Diego today (they’ve been promising rain for awhile and it looks like it’s finally here). Since I LOVE soup in all weather (90 degrees out? Soup, please) and especially when it’s cold, I decided to make a big batch of soup that I can enjoy all week. I love lazy weekends and holidays!

My condo smells so good right now! This morning, I pulled a bunch of items out of the fridge and pantry and threw them in the crock pot. I’ve made vegetable soup like this once before, varying slightly the ingredients. You can really use whatever you have on hand and whatever you like in your soup.

I try to keep the soup pretty low-calorie so I can have it either as a side dish, or mixed with cooked rice/quinoa, corn, chicken, and/or beans for a heartier soup.

I’m naming this soup after President’s Day because I have the day off which allowed me the time to chop everything this morning. Since I’ll probably never use this exact mix of ingredients again, the soup needed a special title.

President’s Day Vegetable Soup

  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • 1 cup chopped onions
  • 1 cup sliced celery (including the leaves ‘cuz Rachael Ray says so)
  • 1 large carrot, chopped
  • 1 tsp minced garlic from the jar
  • 1/2 head green cabbage, chopped
  • 1 (14 oz) can green beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 (14 oz) can diced tomatoes, drained (fire-roasted is the best)
  • 2 cups water
  • 1 can (14 oz) low-sodium broth (chicken, veggie, or beef)
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • 1/4 tsp seasoned salt (optional)
  • 1/3 cup fresh parsley (I have a lot to use up)

Directions:

  1. In a medium-size pot (or stock pot, if you’re doing it all on the stove), heat oil over medium heat.
  2. Cook the celery, carrots, onions, and garlic in the oil for about 5. Remove from heat to let it cool a little (this was probably unnecessary).
  3. Mix together all the other ingredients into a crock pot or stock pot.
  4. Add your cooked mixture. Give it all a stir.
  5. Crock pot: cook on low until vegetables are as cooked as you want them. 6 to 8 hours is usually good.
  6. Stove top: Bring everything to a boil, then reduce to low and simmer until it’s ready. I’m not sure how long that would take, maybe 2 hours? I’m sure it would work, though.

Makes 6 servings or so. Basically it makes a lot but if you eat it as a main course like I do, it won’t get you as far.
 soup 

Tomorrow morning…I will make it to the gym…I will make it to the gym! I had planned on going today and blew it off. I think I’m getting frustrated with my workout routine and therefore I’m less inclined to want to stick with it. (How backwards is that!) I need to change it up but I don’t know how. I do, however, know one of my workout mantras I learned during my short stint at Weight Watchers:

If you always do what you always did, you’ll always get what you always got.

Does anyone else have a fitness/health mantra?

My post-work plans will be my reward for a tough AM workout. One of my girlfriends is hosting a “wine-tasting” themed girl’s night. Wine, snacks, and female bonding: not a bad way to start off a short week!

P.S.

The Healthy Hostess is doing an awesome contest for the new flavor of Cheerios. I bought 4 boxes of Frosted Mini Wheats today for Mitch, and I hope I win the Cheerios to keep me out of it. Holy sugar and HFCS (and deliciousness).

Responses

  1. hi! I’m totally loving the idea of healthy twists!! I definitely try to incorporate that into my daily diet, but sometimes it doesn’t work so well. 😛 Hope your blog can help me out in that area!

    • I hope so, too! All you (or any of us) can do is the best we can, you know? If you have any questions on how to make certain meals healther, let me know and I’ll give it a shot (except baked goods because I am SO not a baker).

      Thanks for your sweet comment.

  2. Got you on my blogroll 🙂

    I add people who ask nicely and who don’t just plug their blog in a comment, so thanks for being nice!

  3. I love soup, too, and it doesn’t matter what the weather is. It’s filling and healthy!

  4. […] in the car and cursing every red light. Therefore, I had a big lunch (including the last of my vegetable soup) and wanted a lighter dinner. I had a head of cabbage from my CSA, and so a stir fry was born. I […]

  5. […] Vegetable Soup, Ribs Optional As I’ve stated before, I love making soups in my crock pot. I also love Mexican food (living less than an hour from […]

  6. […] beach run, soup was the fastest and easiest thing I could make, so soup it was. I prefer to make soup myself using my trusty crock pot, but for convenience sake, I went with my new soup […]

  7. […] beach run, soup was the fastest and easiest thing I could make, so soup it was. I prefer to make soup myself using my trusty crock pot, but for convenience sake, I went with my new soup […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

