Posted by: Hallie | February 22, 2009

Stir Fry Success: Warm Asian-style Slaw

Earlier today, we went hiking with Nina, Mitch’s mom, and her dog Cookie. We were out for a few hours and coming home, I was HANGRY. Like, falling asleep in the car and cursing every red light. Therefore, I had a big lunch (including the last of my vegetable soup) and wanted a lighter dinner. I had a head of cabbage from my CSA, and so a stir fry was born. I kinda also thought of it as a cooked slaw, since there was so much cabbage.

Warm Asian-style Slaw with Ground Turkey

  • 1/4 pound (or so) ground turkey
  • 1/4 cup onion, sliced
  • 1/4 chopped carrots
  • 1/2 zucchini, sliced
  • 1 head cabbage, sliced (mine was kinda small)
  • 2 stalks (is that what they’re called??) green onion, sliced
  • 1 tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tsp chili oil
  • 1 tsp sesame oil
  • 2 tsp low-sodium soy sauce
  • dash black pepper

Directions:

  1. Spray a wok or skillet with cooking spray and set over medium heat. Cook the ground turkey, the onions, and carrots together.
  2. Once the turkey is almost brown, toss in the zucchini and continue cooking until the turkey is all brown (maybe 5 minutes?)
  3. Add the cabbage, soy sauce, oils, vinegar, and pepper and raise heat to medium-high. Cook for about 3 minutes, then add green onions and cook for another 5 minutes or until the cabbage and other veggies are as cooked as you want them.
  4. Serve as desired. Makes 2 (light) portions. You add more the turkey, or swap it out with tofu or chicken, or leave it out entirely to serve as a side dish.

I topped it with Sriracha and if I had my act together I’d make brown rice or rice noodles to go with it. Instead I had my favorite ice cream to fill in the space in my stomach. Priorities, you know.

slaw stir fry

My Pantry: Asian-Style Cooking

As you can see, this was totally a “kitchen sink” meal using what I had on hand. I make Asian(ish) dishes a lot, because over the years I’ve collected several useful ingredients for making at-home Asian food (ok…maybe I stole some stuff when Mitch’s mom came over to cook dinner and left it here awhile back. Finders keepers!).

Here is my list of ingredients I have on hand for Asian-style dishes (in order of importance, I’d say):

  • Soy sauce (LOW SODIUM)
  • Dark sesame oil
  • Rice wine vinegar
  • Jarred ginger and ground ginger (should have fresh, I know)
  • Rice, rice noodles, soba noodles, etc.
  • Sriracha (use sparingly unless you like the heat)
  • Hoisin sauce
  • Fish sauce (gross-sounding but essential for Thai dishes)
  • Chili-garlic sauce

I know there’s more, but like I said this is what I have. What ingredients should I get to further continue my love affair with fake Asian cooking?

Responses

  1. Cooked cabbage is so good, and SO good for you! This sounds great. Thanks for stopping by my site so that I knew where to find yours!

    Cute header!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

