Posted by: Hallie | February 25, 2009

Soup and Dessert (and maybe Carne Asada)

A few days ago, we got the Trader Joe’s Fearless Flyer in the mail. I love getting their little ad-newspaper describing new (and classic) TJ products. I always read about something that I want to try next time I’m there (score one for the ad writers and marketing pros, I guess). This time, I saw something called Chicken Cilantro Mini-Wontons and I knew I needed to try it. I am obsessed with cilantro, and Asian food (as this blog might attest).

won tons

I also spotted low-sodium broths on my TJ trip, which is always out of stock at my regular grocery store. The chicken broth only has 70mg sodium per cup, and the vegetable broth has 140mg. For store-bought broth, that’s nothing.

broth

(Note my messy table and my study buddy doing his Excel homework on the couch.)

I read in Mark Bittman’s NY Times blog awhile back about making an easy wonton soup by adding a dash of soy sauce to broth, then dropping frozen wontons into the boiling soup. Garnish with chopped green onions, heat for a few minutes on the stove, and you’re done.

Mitch asked me tonight if i could live off nothing but soup and dessert. Throw in the occasional Mexican food feast, and yes…yes I could.

So Mark’s soup idea became my dinner, except I also added Sriracha (duh) and some boy choi from my CSA pick-up tonight (I put it all away and forgot to take a picture. But it looks the same as it always does…gorgeous fresh produce). I also added ton of green onions, instead of some wussy garnish onions.

wonton soup
Chicken Cilantro Mini Won Tons Review:

For a meal that took 5 minutes to prepare and another 5 to cook, it was really good! There wasn’t an overwhelming cilantro flavor (which I was hoping for), but they definitely tasted different than regular wontons. Sweeter, almost, but in a good way. Next time I have these, I’m going to try pan-frying them in a little oil and serving with a spicy, flavorful dipping sauce.

wonton closeup

I’m not sure the photo illustrates it, but each wonton was probably an inch long. They are pretty healthy too: 4 wontons have 50 calories, 0.5g fat, 1g fiber, 3g protein. I had 13 (yes, I counted) which was a LOT, and this huge bowl of soup still had less than 250 calories. Even with two mini-pitas (from, where else?), I still had enough room for dessert (a mini Reese’s cup and two medjool dates).

P.S. I leaned the best dates ever come from…yep, Trader Joe’s. I had quite quite the shopping adventure this weekend.)

Blogger Giveaways:

  1. Lindsay at For The Love of Oats is doing a blog-iversary giveaway here.
  2. Kelly at Every Gym’s Nightmare is giving away some fitness-related goodies.
  3. Healther at Hangry Pants is giving away a yummy treat that I want to try.

Cooking Experiments Ahead!

Mitch is still on his low-carb diet until Sunday, so I have a few more days where I can have whatever I want for dinner (soup for dinner would not cut it for him, but obviously it does for me). I’m also planning on trying my hand at baking this weekend. Baking terrifies me for some reason, so wish me luck!

Responses

  1. Aw, baking’s nothing to be terrified about! As long as you don’t accidentally inhale a pile of flour, drop a carton of eggs on the flour, or burn yourself on the oven door, there’s really nothing to worry about. 🙂

  2. I also love Trader Joes. I just saw the wontons. Have not tried yet. Now I will. I always buy their low sodium organic broth. That is what I used in my corn chowder 2 nights ago. See my recipe for corn chowder on my latest blog. The recipe is not lo-cal sorry, but it was very tasty.

  3. I, too, adore Trader Joe’s! The Bittman blog is a gem as well althoguht I hadn’t tuned in int ime to get that easy soup suggestion. Will ahve to try it sometimes because I am also nuts about Asian food.
    BTW, when we live on a commune without men, I will live next door to you and we will live on soup, dessert, and the occasional cheese-filled Mexican binge!
    Ta love 🙂

  4. Good luck with baking! There’s no reason to be scared because the worst that happens is it’s a complete disaster lol. I’ve had many of those, but they haven’t killed me yet 😀

  5. That soup – SOUNDS AND LOOKS fabulous! My mouth is watering right now!

  6. […] end, because like other greens, they can cook down to nothing in a hurry. I’ve also thrown it in soup, which was really […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

