Posted by: Hallie | February 26, 2009

A (Somewhat) Tofu Success

I’ve never cooked tofu before tonight. In fact, I’ve only eaten it a few times I didn’t like it because it was plain, bland, and mushy. However, I’ve been trying to eat less meat, so I was determined to give it a fair shot. I guess if you want something done right, do it yourself, right?

I wanted something non-Asian (for once!) so I made Caitlin’s BBQ Tofu per her instructions. I pressed the tofu between paper towels, then marinated it in BBQ sauce and baked it at 400 degrees for about 26 minutes. I flipped the tofu pieces over when I had about 5 minutes left to space.

Since I already had the oven at 400, I sliced a red onion into large chunks and roasted them alongside the tofu. I also cooked some broccoli, zucchini, and carrots on the stove and since I’ve been too lazy to make quinoa, I toasted two mini-pitas (30 calories/pita) on the side.

tofu

So I liked it! Well, pretty much. I think I liked the texture, as it was slightly crispy on the outside and tender, but not exactly mushy, on the inside (well…it was a little mushy…but it was ok). But the flavor was lacking a bit. I marinated the tofu in the BBQ sauce for about 12 minutes. If I marinated it longer, would the flavor penetrate more, or does it always just stick to the outside?

The moral of the story is that I tried something very very new for me and it went well! I froze the other 2/3 of the block so I’ll have pre-pressed tofu when I want to try again. I’m really taking advantage of these “single girl” dinners while Mitch is low-carb dieting/going to class at night. Although I can’t wait to start cooking for both of us and eating dinner together again!

Bloggers and Their Friends are Awesome

For starters, Mara is giving away some chocolate treats. And, this afternoon I was eating lunch at my desk (bad bad habit, I know) and catching up on blogs when I read Meghann’s homie Derek was randomly giving away a few of the incredible-looking pretzels she featured on her blog.

I LOVE pretzels, so I thought what the heck and emailed him. My timing was right and I’m totally getting a pretzel from FL! Too funny, right? As I mentioned on her blog, I can’t wait to see what Mitch says when a pretzel shows up at our door. Hey, the college kid in me is not going to turn down free food!

Thanks again, Derek and Meghann!

Responses

  1. Congrats for trying something new and it being a success- I’m still a bit of a tofu-virgin myself. I’ve tried silken in smoothies but that’s about it so far though I’d like to try more.
    I’m totally jealous about the pretzel– grr! 🙂

  2. Tofu is basically a flavourless sponge, so marinating longer could probably help. It looks tasty! I’ll have to try that recipe.


Leave a Reply

Categories

