Posted by: Hallie | March 2, 2009

Turkey Sloppy Joes, Per Request

I’m glad I’m not the only one that experiences the potato fingers! It’s pretty freaky.

I was on my own for dinner tonight, so I was all set to heat up some soup I had stored in the depths of my freezer. But when Mitch texted me and asked if I’d make something for him to heat up when he got home, how could I refuse that? Especially if it means one less trip to Jack-in-the-Box for him. Besides, I promised him Sloppy Joes yesterday, and I was too tired to cook so I owed it to him. I think Sloppy Joes are about the only thing I cook that Mitch could eat weekly and not get sick of.

This is a great recipe. Sloppy Joes are one of those childhood foods that you don’t think about too often, but when you do have it, you remember how good it is! I like my version because it’s less salty than using a seasoning packet, and it’s a good balance between sweet and spicy. Depending on the barbecue sauce you use, the taste will really vary. Honey BBQ sauce would be really good.

Side note: are there any store brands of BBQ sauce that doesn’t have HFCS or regular corn syrup? I bought KC Masterpiece and it’s not the healthiest, but damn if it isn’t yummy and cheap.

Turkey Sloppy Joes
Adapted from Recipezaar

Ingredients

  • 1.25 lbs ground turkey
  • 1 green pepper, chopped (optional)
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 1 (8 ounce) can tomato sauce
  • 1/4 cup ketchup
  • 1/2 cup barbecue sauce
  • 1 tablespoon yellow mustard
  • pepper, to taste
  • hot sauce, to taste (optional)
  • 1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 tablespoon red-wine vinegar
  • whole-wheat hamburger buns
Directions
  1. In a large skillet, brown turkey, green pepper, and onions (reserve about 1/3 cup chopped onion to sprinkle on top, if you want.)
  2. Drain off the liquid/fat. Tip: it’s not very environmentally friendly, but an easy way to drain ground beef/turkey is to move the meat to one side of the pan, tilt it slightly, then sop up the liquid with paper towels. Just be careful because the towels will be hot.
  3. Stir in remaining ingredients, partially cover, and simmer 15-20 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  4. Taste and add hot sauce, extra barbecue sauce, etc., to taste
  5. Once it’s the desired consistency, serve on toasted wheat buns or wheat bread with the remaining onion. And that’s it!
  6. Serves about 5, reheats and freezes well.

My Healthy Twists:

  1. Used turkey instead of beef
  2. Omitted the brown sugar and the salt in the original recipe
  3. Added extra veggies to bulk up the meal (although I was out of green pepper tonight, whoops)
  4. Used whole-wheat buns instead of white buns

I didn’t snap a picture of my meal, because I couldn’t find the camera at first (!!) and I was quite hungry by the time it was done. I didn’t want a whole bun so I had my Sloppy Joe on a slice of toasted whole-wheat bread. It wasn’t that sloppy though, since I ate it with a fork and knife. Mitch says that officially makes it NOT a Sloppy Joe, but I disagree.

But here is the turkey mixture, minus what I ate (Sorry, vegetarians!):
sloppy joe

Appetizing, no? It was hard to take this picture because at my feet was a certain princess who was hoping I’d drop some morsel for her to attack.

DSCF2017

Pathetic, right? That look says to me, “Mommy why can’t I eat your dinner? It’s smells so much better than mine! Don’t you love me?!?!?”

The laundry is calling my name, and not in that “don’t worry, I’ll fold myself this time” kinda way. Later, gators!

Responses

  1. My dog does the same thing…right under my feet.

  2. […] making Sloppy Joe’s for dinner tonight—I need a relaxing night in after the craziness of last week. Tomorrow morning, […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

