Posted by: Hallie | March 5, 2009

I Miss Cooking!

This week has been insane for me. My job is always busy (just like everyone else’s, right?) but a few times a year it’s really really crazy for a week or so and then it goes back to manageable. So this is that week (probably the busiest I’ll have all year, honestly) but hey, only one more day until the weekend, right? I can’t wait to get back into my normal eating/sleeping/exercising routine (I’ll have a lot to make up for with Chandra’s MBBC). And I can’t wait to COOK! Mitch made a delicious dinner tonight (garlic cheese toast on whole-wheat English muffins, salad, and what I call his “Italian chili”—basically spaghetti sauce w/ground turkey, zucchini, green pepper, red onion, and jalapeño, but no spaghetti) and it felt so good to eat a balanced meal. I am going to plan some fun, new meals for next week.

That being said, I don’t have much to write about as far as recipes go, but I did pick up by CSA bunch. My life was so lacking with fresh produce lately that I was so happy to have lettuce and strawberries in my fridge again! This week, we got:

  • Broccoli
  • Cabbage
  • Celery
  • Dill (damn dill! I don’t know what to do with you)
  • Kale
  • Oranges
  • Carrots (yum!)
  • Potatoes
  • Spring Mix
  • Strawberries (extra double yum)

veggies

I also cleaned out my purse (because who needs sleep, really?) and I wanted to show you the contents. Just the essentials…chocolate, the breast-cancer ribbon stamp, tea, recipes printed off the computer. My purse is usually ridiculous…so I bought an even larger one. Problem solved, right?

purse contents

purse contentsAnd what’s that, in between my wallet, makeup, a pen, and a sample of exfoliating cleanser that I got from Sephora before Christmas? A White Chocolate Macadamia Clif Bar! I finally found them. I haven’t been a fan of the other Clif Bars I’ve tried, but this one was awesome! Totally tasted like WCM cookie. This was my breakfast this morning (well, part of it. Like I said, it hasn’t been a normal week).

THANK YOU to everyone who’s read or commented on either of my Weight Loss posts (see tab above). It’s been a really good exercise for me to gather my thoughts about those periods of my life, organize them, and write them down. It’s also been a reminder to me to honor and celebrate how far I’ve come, emotionally and physically. This week, I need those reminders for sure.

Happy (almost) Friday!

Responses

  1. Three cheers for CSA posts! Great minds think alike… 😉

    I’m sooo jealous of your strawberries! We are seriously lacking in fruit right now up here. Good thing I love apples.

    The only thing I ever use dill for is egg salad, if you like that! I bet there are some good salmon recipes with it, too, if you like it!

  2. i totally wish i would have done the csa thing! maybe i’ll look into it for next season…
    i’m jealous of that wcmn clif bar– i can’t find them ANYWHERE!
    hope you have a wonderful day ❤

  3. That’s a nice CSA package! I think my friend and I are going to split one this summer – it will force me to try new foods I normally wouldn’t have!

    Glad to see mine isn’t the only purse like that!


Leave a Reply

Categories

