Posted by: Hallie | March 7, 2009

Workout Schedule and an Upcoming Race

I still haven’t done much cooking (or healthy eating, to be perfectly honest) but I know I’ll get “back on track” soon. I have to, or my clothes won’t fit and my beautiful CSA veggies will go bad!

When I feel anxious or stressed out, it’s really helps me to plan things out. I’ll plan out my weekend, to the hour sometimes. (I know, I know). Even if I don’t stick to my plans, just writing them down makes things better.

So in order to get myself back on the healthy train, I decided to plan out my workouts for the week. For accountability’s sake, here’s my plan for the week:

Today (done): run (4.5 miles, a few walk breaks here and there)
Sunday: yoga
Monday: gym (i.e. strength training)
Tuesday: run (4 miles)
Wednesday: gym
Thursday: yoga
Friday: run (3 miles?)
Saturday: yoga
Sunday: hilly walk (3 miles)

I know I don’t have any “rest” days, but after basically taking a week off of working out, I feel like I have a lot of toxins to sweat out. Also, since I’m not on a specific strength plan, I’m not sure yet what I will be doing in the gym but I know I need some time with the weights. I’m also making up for last week on the yoga front; I usually go to yoga once a week.

Does this look like a good plan, oh fitness internet experts? It’s more running then I’m used to lately, because I have decided to give running another try. I was running about 2-3 times a week, and then cut down to about once a week because I was getting frustrated. I didn’t seem to be gaining any speed or endurance, so I was getting mad at myself. I began instead walking up the hills near my house (not a leisurely walk, trust me: the calorie burn/heart rate is just a little lower than my runs).

To help motivate me to get back into running, I’ve decided to sign up for a race! This will only be my second race (my first was a 5k back in November) so my first goal is to finish and have fun, my second goal is to finish in an hour or less (for me, that won’t be easy). This is the race:

09_ut_8k_logo

It’s a little less than 5 miles. This morning on my jog, there were a few races going on and I was kind of wishing the spectators were cheering for me. So when I got back and saw my friend had emailed me about this upcoming 8k, I knew I had to sign up. It’s on May 3, so I have time to train. WISH ME LUCK!

(P.S. If you’re reading my blog for cooking/recipe ideas, I promise that regularly scheduled foodie blogging will resume pronto.)

Responses

  1. […] I think later mornings and later evenings are going to be a more regular occurrence around here. 8k here I come […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

