Posted by: Hallie | March 8, 2009

Blogger-inspired (and Supplied!) Lunch

This time change is messing me up! This morning, I missed yoga because I forgot about the “Spring Forward” and woke up too late. (I ended up going at 5:30 instead. It was still light when I got out of class!)

Earlier today, I probably had the most delicious lunch I’ve had in quite some time. It included a pretzel that hailed from Tampa, Florida! I was checking blogs at the right time last week and Derek, friend of Meghann over at The Inner Workings of a College Graduate, offered to send pretzels to the first five people who emailed him. I’d seen those bad boys on Meghann’s blog and also over at Eat, Live, Run, so I emailed Derek, and lo and behold and this came for me today:

pretzel

I put Mitch’s iPod Nano in the picture to show how massive this pretzel is. And…it was hard not to eat the whole thing! Like Meghann, I paired the pretzel with some tomato soup (Trader Joe, low-sodium brand with hot sauce mixed in). On the side I attempted to make kale chips. They came out OK, but I have yet to master the technique for perfect kale chips.

pretzel lunch 

I have about 1/3 of the pretzel left (yes that means I ate 2/3 of it today) and I am making a Trader Joe run for more soup. It was the perfect combo! And the pretzel totally made me ready for baseball season…although there is no way the pretzels at Petco Park are nearly as good as these were.

Tonight we bought a rotisserie chicken from Costco and paired it with potatoes and vegetables. I love buying a pre-cooked chicken and experimenting with fun side dishes. And the chicken is usually inexpensive, and leftovers abound! I’ll post my potato recipe tomorrow; it was a “non-recipe” creation that came out great.

Tomorrow my goal is to defy time changes and go to the gym in the morning. It’s going to be so dark!

Also…Kelly at Every Gym’s Nightmare is giving away some cool goodies! One of these days, I will win!

Leave a Reply

Categories

