Posted by: Hallie | March 9, 2009

Roasted Potatoes with Paprika and Garlic

I received some organic potatoes in last week’s CSA bunch, so for dinner last night we had a very balanced meal of rotisserie chicken (a la Costco), stir fried veggies (thawed frozen blend mixed with some fresh broccoli) and roasted potatoes. I used the roasting technique from Veganomicon and added a few touches to make them extra tasty (in my opinion, anyway).

Roasted Potatoes with Paprika and Garlic

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 lbs new potatoes (about 4 good-sized ones)
  • 1/2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp paprika (I wish I had smoked paprika for this!)
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1-2 tsp minced garlic

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees F
  2. Cut potatoes into chunks about 1 inch wide. Try to make the pieces the same size.
  3. Put the potato pieces in a large bowl or colander and rinse with cold water to release some of the starch.
  4. Spray a baking sheet with olive oil or Pam. Spread the potatoes onto the sheet.
  5. Drizzle olive oil over the potatoes and toss to coat. Sprinkle liberally with the salt, pepper, and paprika.
  6. Cook in preheated oven for about 45-50 minutes. Every 15 minutes, check on them, stir them around a little, taste one or two and add more paprika if desired.
  7. With five minutes to go in the oven, sprinkle the garlic over the potatoes and stir to combine. Most of the garlic ended up burned at the bottom of the pan, but I swear they added a garlicky flavor nonetheless.
  8. Let cool a few minutes and serve. Serves 3-4.

roasted potatoes

They look good, right? I think using new potatoes was key. We still ate ours with ketchup, but honestly they didn’t need it. The paprika added more color than taste, which was kind of the point since I used very little oil. I told Mitch to use the leftover potatoes to recreate his beloved ground turkey hash from Hash House A Go Go, but I’m not sure if he did.

New Strength Training Program

I wanted a new full-body strength program, so I found this template online, and selected the exercise I wanted to do for each body part*. Then I did the whole card twice as a circuit. I’ll know tomorrow if I did a good job (i.e., if I’m sore!) but I think I’m going to stick to my new plan for about a month.

Tomorrow I’m going for a run after work, because it’ll be light outside! I think later mornings and later evenings are going to be a more regular occurrence around here. 8k here I come (uh…eventually…)

*I wouldn’t recommend designing your own plan if you’re new to strength training. I had a trainer for about a year and off and on before that, so I felt comfortable enough to design my own plan. When in doubt, ask an expert!

Responses

  1. Those potatoes look amazing!!
    I posted last nights recipe! Thanks!!
    Love the new training idea, thanks!
    🙂

  2. I love roasted potatoes. Cool template!
    http://theidleloaf.wordpress.com

  3. Ooh! I was going to look for a recipe for the rest of my potatoes today but now I don’t have to! I LOVE paprika, too. I have ground turkey at home – maybe I’ll make something with that… or chicken-apple sausage. Oh, decisions, decisions.

    Hash House – I’m jealous! That place is good. 🙂

  4. being sore isnt neccessarily an indicator of how hard you worked! but the new program sounds like a good plan

  5. haha i laughed out loud when i saw your comment about spending too much $$ on fitness and saying “well its my money to spend, right?” one of the hardest things for me to adjust to about married life is that it is NOT my money to spend anymore… it sucks!!

  6. I love roasted potatoes! I really need to get back on my diet this week. Maybe finding more yummy, but healthy recipes like this could encourage me to stick to a program. I like eating all the good junk food waay too much. 😦

  7. Wifey! First post, aren’t you proud??

    So I LOVE roasted potatoes, your’s look great! Right now I’m obsessed with a similar recipe. I cut sweet potatoes into super thin round slices and use most of the same ingredients, substituting cayenne pepper for paprika. They’re AMAZING, you should definitely try it 🙂

  8. Roasted Potatoes are one of the best things ever! I was even thinking about cooking some today – before I saw your post. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

