Posted by: Hallie | March 11, 2009

Operation Get Him to Like Fish

…or tolerate it?

Mitch is not a fish person and I LOVE it so I’m making it my goal to find ways to prepare fish so that he’ll like it (or eat it and not hate me). I picked up some California Wild Halibut at the store tonight and threw together two “Hallie-style” dishes. The poor guy…I shouldn’t have thrown fish and quinoa at him in the same meal, but he was a trouper.

Halibut for the Anti-Fish Eater

Ingredients:

  • 2 halibut fillets (a little under half a pound each…holy protein!)
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp butter
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp lemon juice, divided
  • 1/4 tsp pepper

Directions:

  1. Sprinkle 1 tsp of lemon juice and the salt over the fish. Let sit about 10 minutes.
  2. Heat the butter and oil in a large pan over medium-medium high heat.
  3. Sprinkle pepper all over one side of the fish fillet and place that side down on the pan. Pepper the other side.
  4. Cook fish until it flakes easily with a fork, about 6 minutes each side (depending on thickness).
  5. Transfer to a plate and cover with foil if you need more time to finish making dinner (my cooking timing is not the greatest). Serves 2.

I made a quick pan sauce for Mitch’s fish to add some more flavor. I deglazed the pan with about 1/4 cup low-sodium chicken broth, then swirled in about 1 tsp butter until melted. I added a shake or two of garlic salt, and poured the sauce over his fish. Here’s my plate, without any sauce:

fish and qunioa

On the side, I made a quinoa pilaf. I sautéed one shallot and about 1/4 cup onion (chopped) in a small pan in 1 tsp olive oil until soft. I then added 3/4 cup low-sodium chicken broth and 1/2 cup quinoa, rinsed. Once the quinoa comes to a boil, I reduced the heat and let it simmer covered for 15 minutes. Then I added 2 sliced green onions and there you go! I covered mine in Sriracha, but what else is new there. We had salad too, lest you think I forgot my veggies.

So, did Mikey Mitchy like it? (yes, I quote pop culture references from before my time). He said, “Not bad babe. It wasn’t fishy.” SUCCESS! He certainly won’t be requesting fish for dinner any time soon, but it was a start. And when I asked him what he thought of the quinoa, he said, “it was good…with the hot sauce.” Like I said, I’ll take it.

Does anyone else “force” their significant other (or parents, friends, etc) to eat new foods or foods that they don’t particularly care for? How does it usually work out? I have Mitch to thank for lots of foods that I didn’t eat before, so I can try to do the same for him, I think.

I have so much TV to watch in my DVR! This blogging is coming between me and my tv. Not that I mind…but I think my tv-watching partner is going to start watching shows without me and I MUST be there for my favorites, 24 and Criminal Minds! And there’s a new Grey’s Anatomy tonight, and American Idol…now if only I could find a way to get paid for watching TV. I’d be set!

Responses

  1. Now if only you could get my boyfriend to eat fish too! There’s no way I could get mine to eat a fish filet like that, it would have to be small and hidden! 😛

    He’s otherwise pretty good about trying the stuff I make, and he usually likes it! I introduced him to pesto and hummus and now they’re two of his faves!

  2. Hi there! New to your blog as of yesterday! My ex was the same way about fish. I found that the more “stuff” I put on the fish, the more he tolerated it. He enjoyed salmon baked w/ cheese and onions on top, tilapia topped w/ a spicy mango salsa, and a nut/breadcrumb crusted salmon as well. Good luck!

  3. I don’t FORCE Rob to eat healthy, I’m introducing him tot he correct way to eat. WE just crossed the fish bridge too. I grilled it. It wasn’t amazing, but I need to work on my fish prep idead. I got him to try Israeli Coucous as well. And more veggies, ALWAYS more veggies 🙂

  4. never tried halibut. I will have to buy it this weekend. thanks for the recipe. I, myself am trying to be more of a fish person. Love seafood and sushi, but plain old fish not so much.

  5. That looks really good – yum! I love halibut! Petrale sole is another non-fishy, mild white fish I like.

    Quinoa and fish – he was brave, haha!

  6. I have a great parmesan-crusted tilapia recipe if you’re interested. It involves covering it in garlic and parmesan cheese, which is a sure way to get me to eat anything so surely it will work on Mitch!

  7. […] or something Anyway, I’ve been trying to vary the sources of protein in my diet by eating more fish, experimenting with tofu, and even the occasional pork […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

