Posted by: Hallie | March 12, 2009

Spazzy Pad Thai and CSA Rundown

I got a great bunch of produce today! Every week when I pick it up, I wonder how I’m ever going to finish all that produce. And most of the time, I manage to run out just before it’s time to get my next batch. Starting next week, my friend and I are splitting it three ways with another friend (and moving up to the larger box). So it’ll be interesting to see if we get more produce, or the same quantity and different types of things. (Maybe that’s just interesting to me, now that I type it out lol).

  • Bok Choy
  • Broccoli
  • Cabbage
  • Chard
  • Lemons
  • Lettuce
  • Mizuna
  • Oranges
  • Parsley
  • Potatoes
  • Strawberries (two containers! Lovely)

csa mar 12

Tonight, I decided to make Pad Thai, or a healthy version of it, for dinner tonight. I was inspired by two Food Network recipes for Pad Thai (from Emeril and Alton Brown) and the result was pretty good! I need to tweak the recipe a little to include what I actually ended up doing, so I’ll post the finished recipe soon.

pad thai

I marinated some tofu and a chicken breast all day in a soy sauce/ground ginger/sesame oil/garlic marinade, and both the tofu and the chicken was really flavorful.

I was SUCH a spaz when cooking, and I have the messy kitchen to prove it. When I am experimenting with a new meal, I get so stressed out sometimes. I find it always takes me longer than I anticipate, which means a late dinner, or my timing with my side dishes is off, etc. The end result tonight was very tasty, but Mitch might have told me I wasn’t allowed to cook new things anymore because I get so stressed out. “You enjoy cooking,” he said, “so it shouldn’t make you such a freak.” (I paraphrase) He pointed out that worse comes to worse, we won’t like it, but that’s why there’s canned soup and Papa John’s (not at the same time, of course).

I think it’s because I enjoy cooking (and eating!) that I get so concerned that it won’t be good. After I’ve made something once, I’m ok, but as much as I like experimenting in the kitchen (hello, I started a blog about it!) I get anxiety (and maybe I get cranky too) while actually preparing the meal.

Is there anyone else out there who gets like that (spazzy/snippy) when cooking a new meal or when the timing doesn’t go how you planned it? No? It’s just me? Well, how should I get over it? Thanks team!

This week went by fast! My “plan” is to wake up early to run instead of my original plan of running after work. I am not amped about running in the dark…but there might be a Snuggie Bar Crawl tomorrow night in San Diego, and c’mon, if that’s not some prime people-watching, I don’t know what is!

Happy Friday Eve!

Responses

  1. Your pad thai looks amazing and I love all of the fresh fruits and veggies!!

  2. Snuggie Bar Crawl? I want to go!
    Oh well, Shamrock Fest tomorrow will have to do as a poor substitute…

  3. i’m torn between the Snuggie and the Shamwow

  4. I am totally like that when I get cooking something. I would usually rather have my boyfriend leave me the heck alone but he ends up hovering and trying to help and it pisses me off even more. *sigh*

    What is this about a box of veggies? Do you get it delivered? I’m really curious. I love the variety! please explain to *new* and *curious* reader!

    • I don’t get it delivered; when you participate in a CSA you typically have to go pick the produce up somewhere. From localharvest.org:

      A CSA, (for Community Supported Agriculture) is a way for the food-buying public to create a relationship with a farm and to receive a weekly basket of produce. By making a financial commitment to a farm, people become “members” (or “shareholders,” or “subscribers”) of the CSA. Most CSA farmers prefer that members pay for the season up-front, but some farmers will accept weekly or monthly payments.

      Typically, you don’t get to pick which vegetables you get, but that’s part of the fun! I’m eating things I never though I would before (like radishes, chard, etc). And the cost is similar/less than buying organic at the store, and you can feel good about supporting your farm community and eating seasonal, local produce. And it’s DELICIOUS too!

      (sorry for the long response, you asked for it! I really believe in the philosophies behind CSAs).

      If you want to see if there are any CSAs near you, go to http://www.localharvest.org/csa/ and put in your zip code or just Google “CSA (your city).”

  5. ooo fresh produce- i love it!

    I get pissed when food doesnt go as planned- especially new recipes cause i know they could be better, but i just dont know how much

  6. I’ve been looking for a CSA near me but the closest seems to be a couple hours away I wish I could have something like this.
    That pad thai looks great!

  7. im sorry you have to go to a wake. 😦 hugs!

  8. OMG this is the GREATEST THING EVER! Seriously, I’m in love! I LOVE it! Thank you SOOOO much! Now I just need to talk the BF into it. I found one that has a pick-up close to my work and offers half season and full season. The full season rate is around $1100 (22 weeks). That’s $50 a wk. I easily spend that much on produce a week and would love to add variety and support local farms! This is amazing!!!!

  9. I get like that too 😉 This morning I made banana donuts, and realized that I was missing an ingredient! I made a substitution and they turned out okay, but I was kind of frazzled. Luckily, my husband was in the shower and didn’t witness it.

    Your dish looks delish!

  10. MMmm pad thai! So good!

  11. I love pad thai… but I’m beyond jealous of your CSA!!! I need to find one to sign up for thats not a bazillion dollars!

  12. What a good haul of stuff! Go CSAs!

    I am exactly the same way. I totally have the hardest time getting the timing down right, and am so bummed out when something doesn’t work out, especially if I’m cooking for someone else. I want it to be perfect! My best friend is the same way, too.

    There’s a Snuggie Pub Crawl this weekend here too. 🙂

  13. […] cleaned up my Pad Thai recipe from the other night and wanted to post it so I could make it again. It was really good, and other than assembling all […]

  14. Yes, I get the same way, especially if I realized too late I didn’t have an ingredient. I find that a good way to avoid the frazzle is to make side dishes that will fare well if they’re done early. I have a veggie steamer that I’m totally in love with so def get one if you don’t have one, and it automatically goes to warming when it’s done. Rice sits well too, and so do mashed potatoes, and anything with a sauce that thickens as it stands because you can just add some milk or water if it gets too thick while staying warmed. Hope that helps!

  15. […] been trying to vary the sources of protein in my diet by eating more fish, experimenting with tofu, and even the occasional pork […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

