Posted by: Hallie | March 17, 2009

Barbecue on St. Patty’s Day?

Happy St. Patrick’s Day! Honestly, I don’t really care much about “drinking” holidays (let’s be honest, that’s what they are) like St. Patrick’s Day or Cinco de Mayo. I’d rather go out when the prices aren’t jacked up and there aren’t crazy lines everywhere you try to go. Mitch is Irish and I don’t even think he’ll be partaking in his beloved whiskey tonight (a school night? we’re too old for those shenanigans).

Instead, I stayed in and made a “guy-friendly” meal (who am I kidding, I love it too) using my trusty crock-pot. I don’t have that much experience with cooking pork—might be that Jewish thing or something 😛 Anyway, I’ve been trying to vary the sources of protein in my diet by eating more fish, experimenting with tofu, and even the occasional pork product.

I bought a pork loin roast at the store because I figured it was a leaner cut than, say, pork shoulder or something. According to the North Carolina Pork Council, I was right. (Tip 1: when it doubt, cuts that are labeled loin or sirloin are generally leaner cuts of pork or beef.)

Super Simple Slow-Cooked BBQ Pulled Pork

Ingredients:

  • 2-3 lb pork loin roast
  • 1/3 cup water or broth
  • 1 bottle of barbecue sauce (I used Stubb’s Spicy Sauce, and it wasn’t that spicy)
  • 1 medium onion, chopped

Directions:

  1. Pour the water/broth onto the bottom of your crock pot (CP for short)
  2. Place the roast in the CP. Sprinkle the onions on top and around the meat,
  3. Pour about 3/4 bottle of the sauce over the meat/onions.
  4. Cook on low about 7 hours. Mine had to go 8 (darn work) and it was a tad dry.
  5. With two forks, shred the meat and let the “pulled” pork sit in the juices while you prep your sides, or until ready to serve.
  6. Serve as desired on hamburger buns, tortillas, or an English muffin if you’re me and you can’t get those Sandwich Thins that other bloggers enjoy. (No, I’m not bitter. ) Serves about 6.

pulled pork

To match the Southern theme, to pay homage to St. Patrick’s Day, and use up the abundance of veggies in my fridge, I served my sandwich alongside a random stir fry with red onion, garlic, cabbage, red chard, and seasoned with garlic salt, hot sauce, apple cider vinegar, and a little lemon juice. (Tip 2: lemon juice totally takes away the bitter flavor of greens like chard. If you shy away from those nutritious greens, give it a try!)

Everything came out quite tasty, albeit a tad dry. Mitch added extra BBQ sauce to his sandwich, but I just spooned some of the liquid at the bottom of the crock pot to mine. I love how the sauce in meals like this melts into the toasty bread (another reason why open-face is the way to go). And the side vegetable turned out great for a random throw-together of items. I think I’m going to take the leftovers and turn them into a wrap for tomorrow’s lunch.

Off to watch American Idol and get to bed early so I can run in the morning, and still have the energy to enjoy a mid-week Happy Hour with the girls after work. Have a good one, peeps.

Responses

  1. Great recipe!

  2. mmm… bbq is good. I like your take on St. Patty’s Day feast.

    You know the southern accent is actually a very old Irish Accent? When some of the Irish immigrated to america they settle in the rural south where they didn’t have much contact with the north so their Irish accent developed into what we consider the southern accent today. pretty interesting, right?

    • Meghann:
      That is cool…the two don’t sound alike to me. Side note: I love southern accents. Actually I love all accents…well, most accents. 😉

      Leah:
      If you try that, let me know how it works! I have a thing of liquid smoke in my pantry but it scares me for some reason. Probably because it was leftover from when Mitch’s mom lived in condo over 2 years ago.

  3. I’ve never prepared pork either except bacon! I’ll have to give it a try. Doesn’t seem as scary as I thought! My mom would make pork chops when I was growing up and I never liked them b/c I thought they were too dry. I think I may try your recipe and maybe double the liquid b/c I’ll be gone for ~10 hrs for work/commute. I think a tad of liquid smoke and some black peppercorn would be divine in it as well.

  4. I’m from the Memphis area, originally, which is the land of pulled pork and many things pork fat related… In my neck of the woods, honey, there’d be cole slaw on that sandwich! 😉

    It looks like you had a great dinner, and it sounds like a lovely evening! I’m kind of with you on the drinking holidays. They aren’t really my thing anymore either.

  5. What a fun dinner!

  6. Ooh that sounds awesome! I bet my husband would love that. He’s a pork-eatin’ fool!
    I love your attitude about drinking holidays. You’re right. That’s totally what it is! My friend was in NY for St. Patty’s and he spent over $100! Uhh…just to pee it out later? Hmm.

  7. […] Memorial Day than BBQ? I wanted to use my “recipe” for BBQ pulled chicken (that I used to make pulled pork awhile back) but with a special (and healthy!) […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

