Posted by: Hallie | March 23, 2009

Tonight’s Thoughts by the Numbers

  1. I love blogging contests! Especially when I win. I was chosen as one of the winners of Noshtopia’s giveaway of a $5 gift card to Starbucks’ in honor of their new value menu-type deals. Thanks, Stephanie! Skinny hazelnut latte, no foam, here I come!
  2. Speaking of contests, Julia Go Lean is holding a great one. How long can I keep up my good luck?
  3. I just got off the phone with one of my best friends who’s going to launch her own blog soon! The concept is great and I can’t wait to read it when it comes out.
  4. I am really excited to run tomorrow morning because a) I think I might slooowly be getting better at running and b) my AWESOME boyfriend updated my iPod playlist for me. New songs make a run so much more enjoyable!
  5. Tofu is addicting. I’m finding I like it best prepared this way: press extra-firm tofu between paper towels for half an hour or so. Then slice and marinate all day (today I did soy sauce, ground ginger, and sesame oil). Bake at 400 degrees for 25 minutes, flipping after 20. I sprayed the tofu with olive oil before baking.
  6. To go along with #4, tofu tastes great on pitas. I’m having my leftovers as a sandwich tomorrow.
  7. A great way to try new vegetables is to throw them in a stir fry. If you don’t like it, there is enough other stuff to mask the taste, and if you do like it, even better! I used this technique tonight with dandelion greens.
  8. Eating dandelion supports the liver and kidneys, which are burdened by the breakdown of cells as the warmer weather thins our blood and mucus. Dandelion tastes mildest before it flowers, but the greens may be eaten throughout the growing season, for the high concentration of calcium, potassium, iron, Vitamin A, and other nutrients, the vitality inherent in uncultivated plants, and the joy of being able to eat one’s lawn. Excerpted from: “Dandelion: Greens for spring cleansing and general nutrition."
  9. However, a bad way to cook vegetables is to throw everything in the wok, when some items take longer than others. I should have cooked the bell peppers for at least 5 minutes, probably longer, before adding the green cabbage, bok choy and dandelion greens. They cooked down to almost nothing! Lesson learned (again!)
  10. Lists can’t go up to ten in Windows Live Writer? Oh well…anyway I’m going to Cafe Japengo tomorrow evening to catch up with a girlfriend. Nothing beats great company combined with happy hour prices on sushi and sake!

Here’s what my tofu + mini pitas + weird stir fry ended up looking like. Note the copious Sriracha on the veggies. Edible, certainly, but I’ve definitely done better. Don’t make my mistakes, people, but DO make this tofu because it’s delicious!

yum tofu

GOOD NIGHT MOON!

Responses

  1. I agree, tofu is TOTALLY addictive!!! So you figured out your present, huh?

  2. HI Hallie,

    Thanks for stopping by my site. I love the name of your site and your site too! Great story and I am so excited to meet another Ca blogger.

    I am going to have to try your tofu recommendation. I have some sitting in the fridge that I have been wondering what to do with.

    If you haven’t stopped by today, be sure to as I am hosting an Annie’s Product Giveaway.

    Have a great Tuesday!

    Danica

  3. I make my tofu that way as well! One of my favs is to sprinkle it w/ cayenne, cumin, and curry powder and bake it and serve w/ chick peas in a curry sauce. YUM.

  4. GOODNIGHT MOON!!

    i love that book.
    delicious eats!

  5. Love you list!

    Goodnight Moon, best. book. ever. My dad read it to me EVERY night! The Mister actually took me to see a children’s play (yea, we’re dorks 😉 ) based on Goodnight Moon recently — so adorable!

  6. What a delicious looking dinner!

  7. Those mini pitas are so cute!! ; ) I’ve never tried tofu :s … I know, I’m behind! haha.

  8. hubby loves sriracha!


Leave a Reply

Categories

