Posted by: Hallie | March 26, 2009

Holla at My Challah, Yo

(Excuse the dorkiness of the title tonight. Brain’s a little sleepy.)

I came home from work today to find this package on the kitchen counter:

DSCF2241

Thanks to Twitter, I knew exactly what it was, but still I was more than excited to open up my package to find this:

challah

A home-baked Challah from none other than Mara @ What’s for Dinner!

Now, like just about everyone who’s ever tasted it, I LOVE challah. Basically, challah is a braided egg bread, for those not in the know. Every week when I was growing up, we’d get a challah on Fridays to take home for the weekend. I used to tear through the inside of the loaf because that was my favorite part, and my mom would eat the crust because she liked that the best. Challah makes a great PB&J, is perfect plain or with a touch of butter, and makes the best bread for French toast around. Mara’s bread is perfectly sweet without being overly so, totally uniform in color and shape (so impressive!), and denser (in a good way) than some other challahs that can almost be like eating air.

Last month, I bought a loaf from a local bakery and made stuffed French toast. It was good, but they sliced the bread thinner than I would have liked. I’m going to make (non-stuffed) French toast this weekend using Mara’s bread, and I know it will be ten times better than my last attempt.

THANKS, Mara! I know the winners of your challah from Meghann’s Blogger Bake Sale will be very lucky recipients, indeed!

For dinner tonight, I made Parmesan-Panko baked chicken and salad. Sounds good, right? Well, the salad was great, but the chicken? It was an epic FAIL. (You must click that link if you’ve never seen that site before!) The flavor of the breading was good, but the chicken was way overcooked, the coating didn’t get browned, etc. I’ll post the recipe when I get it right…maybe with fish instead of chicken. I always overcook chicken when I bake it because I’m paranoid about salmonella! Anyone else do that too?

Tomorrow is an exciting day for Healthy Twists. First, my guest blog is appearing on For The Love of Oats, so please check it out! Second, I’m debuting a new section of the blog (that’s actually related to my guest post, for those paying attention) that I’m excited about (yeah, it’s the little things that make me happy) and I hope others like it as well.

Ok, now it’s sleepy time for this “night owl”! I have the day off tomorrow, which is awesome on one hand but not on the other because a) I have tons of errands to do (including getting work done on my car which is always a blast) and b) I’m working on Saturday instead so I hardly get a long weekend. But hey, I’ll take it!

P.S. Oh, and for a cool giveaway, check out On A Lobster Placemat.

Responses

  1. I will definitely Holla at that deliciousness!!!

    I’m excited to see these debuts!

  2. ditto on challah being the BEST french toast bread!!! I always have to cringe when my husbands family uses WHITE wonder bread for french toast – gross! then I have to school them 🙂

  3. Thanks for linking back 🙂

  4. HOORAY!!! I’m so glad you like it!! It really does make the BEST french toast 🙂

  5. challah bread is the best! and that looks amazinggg

  6. LOOOOVE challah! Ah I’m so jealous, looks delish 😉

    Enjoy!

  7. sounds DELICIOUS 😀

  8. Yum ~ looks and sounds delish……break some bread this way too 🙂 lol

  9. I just started reading your blog! You have some amazing recipes!

  10. […] Treat: Almond Butter French Toast As I mentioned, Mara @ What’s for Dinner gifted me a loaf of her awesome Challah. As soon as I saw it, I […]

  11. Two things about the chicken: To keep it from drying out, make sure you’re cooking it in a liquid, not just Pam. If you can’t do that, add fat free sour cream or plain yogurt to the dredging mix. The second suggestion is to use a meat thermometer. You can get them for $20 or less, and this way you can keep it from getting overdone. Hope that helps 🙂

  12. […] Shrek, and chillin’. PLEASE bid on my challah tomorrow! You won’t regret it! Just ask Hallie! […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

