Posted by: Hallie | March 28, 2009

Brunch Treat: Almond Butter French Toast

As I mentioned, Mara @ What’s for Dinner gifted me a loaf of her awesome Challah. As soon as I saw it, I thought, FRENCH TOAST! And even though I said I was going to make a standard FT recipe, when I got to thinking about the ingredients I had in the kitchen, I realized I could make sometime much more fun. I made Mitch the regular kind, though, so as not to scare the poor guy. Baby steps!

I realized that some of my CSA strawberries were starting to go south. Instead of throwing them away, I cut any bad parts off, and used the good parts for the sauce. I am seriously against food waste, so this was a good way to salvage my poor, poor berries.

Side note: when I was learning how to talk, I couldn’t pronounce “strawberry” so I called them “shoobies.” That became the name for them in my household for many years. I even got my friends to call strawberries “shoobies” for awhile. Did you invent any food words when you were a baby that stuck?

The star of this show was obviously the challah, but adding the almond butter inside was SO GOOD (and it added some satiety and nutrition to a usually not-so-nutritious dish). Also, the sauce is nothing more than cooked, slightly sweetened strawberries, so I got the fiber and vitamins from the berries that maple syrup, delicious as it is, just doesn’t have.

almond french toast

(See that steam? That sauce was HOT when I poured it over the FT. And yes, I’m trying to make FT=French Toast happen. Kind of like “fetch.” Name that movie!)

Almond Butter French Toast with Strawberry Sauce

For the sauce:

Combing ½ cup chopped strawberries, 2/3 cup water, 1 tsp agave nectar or sweetener of choice (optional) and ½ tbsp of cornstarch in a small saucepan. Heat to boiling, and then cook over medium-low heat, stirring occasionally until the sauce reaches desired consistency (about 20 minutes). It’s a pretty thin sauce, but it’s perfect with hearty FT.

For the French Toast FT

Ingredients (for one, increase as needed)

  • ½ cup almond milk
  • 1 egg and 1 egg white, beaten
  • ½ tsp almond extract (or vanilla)
  • 1–2 thick slices challah, whole-grain, or any other bread (challah is the BEST of course)
  • 1 tsp almond butter (or more!) per bread slice
  • Butter/cooking spray

Directions:

(with silly comments in parenthesis; don’t mind me)

  1. Mix almond milk, almond/vanilla extract, and eggs in a small bowl. Transfer mixture to a shallow casserole dish.
  2. Heat a griddle or large pan over medium to medium-high heat.
  3. With a serrated knife, carefully cut a slit inside the bread. Then, with a butter knife, smoosh (technical culinary term there) the almond butter inside each piece of bread.
  4. Place the bread slices in the egg/milk mixture. Let sit about 30 seconds, and the flip to coat the other side. Don’t let it sit if your bread is super-soft or super-thin.
  5. Coat the griddle/pan lightly with butter (I just take the end of the stick and smooth it over quickly) or cooking spray. Cook on one side about 3 minutes or until golden brown, then flip and cook the other side another 3 minutes or so.
  6. You’ll know when it’s done if you press lightly on the bread. If it’s squishy (again with the technicality), you’ll want to cook it a little more. If it’s rather firm to the touch (that’s what she said), you’re good.
  7. Serve with strawberry sauce or maple syrup. If you want to get fancy, garnish with sliced almonds and/or powdered sugar.
Responses

  1. Challah! (said like holla of course) Love it. That.looks.so.good.

    Gretchen, stop trying to make fetch happen! It’s not going to happen. I’m about to rent a movie through my TiVo and it might have to be Mean Girls now. 😉

  2. Mean Girls! Love that movie! So glad the FT came out great!

  3. Oh man, that looks delicious!

  4. That looks like heaven!

  5. Well not only am I set on you making us french toast when we come to visit but I SO impressed you got not only a Mean Girls but also a TWSS reference into one entry. 😉

  6. Wow, you were feeling a little saucy when you wrote this one huh? You sure there wasn’t some sangria involved with this FT??? Looks amazing though, I’m gonna try it on Saturday 🙂

  7. I am drooling. Now where can I get that for myself?!


Leave a Reply

Categories

