Posted by: Hallie | April 4, 2009

Ranting and a Recipe

You know the feeling where your body is begging you for healthy, fresh foods? Well, I have been so sporadic with my eating choices lately, doing this yo-yo between “eh, it won’t kill me” = less nutritious food choices, and “I NEED HEALTHY FOOD” = balanced meals with lots of veggies, whole grains, and lean protein. I know that it’s ok to splurge occasionally, but I’m doing it too much, and I think if I don’t get back on track ASAP, I am going to gain weight, which I obviously would rather not do. I’d actually like to lose some weight, and since I am satisfied with the amount I exercise, math-wise that means I need to need eat fewer calories, and specifically less junk. And I KNOW this but I can’t seem to DO it. Sigh…it’s been interesting inside my head the last few weeks (does that make me sound crazy?).

So that little vent aside, after our Mexican take-out night, I was big-time craving vegetables and tofu. I decided to stray from my usual stir-fry flavors and instead made a marinade featuring curry powder. I was pretty pleased with the end result, both for the interesting (in a good way) flavor and the health benefits that you can’t find in anything that comes out of a deep fryer.

I love curries that have coconut milk as a base, but Mitch is not as big a fan, and even the light coconut milk can add a decent number of calories to a dish. If I made this again, I might add half a can of light coconut milk to the sauce at the end just for kicks. But as is, this meal was light-tasting and yet very satisfying and filling.

curry tofu 1

Curry Stir Fry with Veggies, Chicken, and Baked Tofu

Ingredients:

  • ½ pound extra-firm tofu, pressed and sliced
  • 1 chicken breast (a smallish one if possible)
  • Curry Marinade (see below)
  • ¼ cup onion, roughly chopped
  • 1 tsp minced garlic
  • 2 cups broccoli florets
  • ½ cup broth
  • 1 tbsp cornstarch
  • 2 small or 1 large carrot, sliced thin
  • 1 cup bok choy, chopped
  • ¼ cup chopped fresh cilantro (optional)
  • To serve: Sriracha, quinoa/rice

Curry Marinade:

  • ¾ cup vegetable/chicken broth
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tbsp curry powder
  • 1 tbsp low-sodium soy sauce
  • ¼ tsp red pepper flakes
  • 1 tsp minced garlic

Directions:

  1. Mix marinade ingredients together in a small bowl. Pour ¼ cup marinade over the chicken in a resalable bag. Place remaining marinade over the tofu and leave in fridge for 45 minutes.
  2. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Make rice or quinoa and let cook while the you are stir-frying.
  3. Coat a baking sheet with cooking spray or olive oil. Remove tofu from marinade and pour the leftover marinade into a measuring cup. Add another ¼ to 1/3 cup broth as well as the cornstarch. Stir to combine and set aside.
  4. Spread tofu slices on pan and cook for about 22 minutes, flipping halfway through.
  5. While tofu is baking, heat wok or pan over medium-high heat and coat with cooking spray or oil.
  6. Remove chicken from marinade and cut into 1-inch pieces. Brown chicken until almost cooked through, about 5 minutes. Remove chicken from wok and set aside.
  7. Lower heat to medium. Add garlic and onions; cook for about 30 seconds.
  8. Add broccoli, carrots, bok choy stems, and bok choy leaves (in that order). Stir fry about 1 minute before adding the next vegetable. If needed, add about ¼ cup broth to the pan to keep vegetables from burning.
  9. Continue stir frying until vegetables are almost done or until the tofu is ready to come out of the oven.
  10. Add tofu and chicken to pan. Pour marinade/sauce mixture into wok and heat to boiling. Stir in cilantro.
  11. Stir mixture (carefully) until sauce is thickened and everything is incorporated well.
  12. Serve as desired. Makes 2-3 servings (we definitely ate it all—I gave Mitch most of the chicken and I ate most the tofu)

I chose one of the ingredients from this recipe for my next Seasonal Selections. I think I’m going to make Monday the Seasonal Selections day. You know, to give the kids something to look forward to after the weekend’s over.

It’s supposed to be 77 degrees tomorrow so I am really excited to go for a nice run in the sun with my puppy. Tonight, I’m spending some long overdue father-daughter time with (duh?) my dad. Are there any good movies out that we should see? I never ever go to the movies, so I don’t care what’s playing, I just want to go to a movie theater! Also, we’re going to On The Border for dinner (I looked at the menu online and it seems like there are healthy choices I can make to balance out the chips and salsa).

I’d like to do some Shredding (I’m now on Level 2! Tough but not impossible like I had feared) before I go to my dad’s so I should get a move on. Happy Saturday!

Responses

  1. Great recipe my dear!!!
    I’ve been where you are re: rant for a long time now. I’m doing enough to stay where I’m at, but not enough to actually LOSE weight. I’m going to actually get on the ball…

  2. That recipe looks excellent!!! I love curry so much.

    The fact that your body craves healthy food is such a great sign that you are definitely doing something right! Good luck finding the right balance for you. 🙂

  3. Your stir fry looks great! Good luck finding your right balance – you will get there.

  4. Oh wow, super delicious – thanks for sharing the recipe! And have a blast with your dad!

  5. I know I missed the boat but On the Border has these amazing Margarita-Sangria swirls that I’m sure are a million calories but they’re soooo yummy!!!

  6. yum, thanks for sharing your curry stir-fry recipe!

    and i know the feeling you’re ranting about! i used to beat myself up about the back-and-forthing i’d do from healthy to not healthy, etc. it seems like there are always a ton of birthdays/events (aka reasons to eat loads of cake) all clumped together so that i think i’ve totally slipped and forgotten how to eat healthy. but the healthy always comes back, and everything balances out in the end (weight, nutrition, etc). you’re not crazy at all!! you just need to trust yourself that your body is going to know what to do to to get back to healthy each time you indulge. like the others have commented, you’ll find your balance! 🙂

  7. Great recipe! I bet my husband would love it!

  8. Hey! Thank you for commenting on my blog because your post TOTALLY sounds like what I want to say about my yo-you eating, just that you did a much better job of expressing it! ;0)

    My mind sounds JUST like that first paragraph in every single way. I definitely will look into the book, but from what it sounds like, the plan doesn’t sound very feasible??

    That being said, I looove curry with coconut milk bases too! 🙂 And yours looks amazing!!!

  9. The curry marinade looks so easy and delicious – thanks for sharing it.

    Yes, I have times when I neeeeeeed veggies!!!!

  10. Looks yummy!

    This past weekend, we went to go see “The Fast and Furious 4.” It was good! Fast cars, hot chicks, and Paul Walker. Can’t go wrong there!

  11. […] few days ago, I used bok choy in a curry that also included broccoli, carrots, chicken, and tofu. Even though it’s an Asian vegetable, boy […]

  12. this looks so good! I always attend to make my own curry stir-fry but it never works out!


Leave a Reply

Categories

