Posted by: Hallie | April 8, 2009

Braggin’ About Almonds

I bought some raw almonds in bulk from my health food store recently. Well, I bought some raw pistachios first, and the next day they announced the recall so I was at square one for a quick, filling snack option. But raw almonds, unfortunately, are not my favorite. So, I decided to use my coworker’s “recipe” for roasted almonds. It’s ridiculously easy. However, I’d never heard of it before, and it seemed like a great idea. The only homemade roasted nuts recipes I’d seen either had oil/sugar/spices or egg white/spices as coatings, neither of which I was interested in trying.

This recipe can be made with soy sauce or low-sodium soy sauce, but I used my coworker’s recommended ingredient, Bragg’s Liquid Aminos. The only Bragg’s they had at the store was in a spray bottle, but that works for me, as I’ll use it for tofu, stir-fries, and roasted almonds.

braggs

Info from the Bragg’s website

(If you check out that site, be warned there is pretty intense hippie/granola stuff going on over there. A little much even for me, and I consider myself a hippie-in-training.)

Bragg Liquid Aminos contains:

  • no chemicals
  • no artificial coloring
  • no alcohol
  • no preservatives
  • no Gluten
  • Certified NON-GMO

Bragg Liquid Aminos are made NON-GMO soybeans and purified water. They are an excellent, healthy, gourmet replacement for Tamari and Soy Sauce. Bragg’s has a small amount of naturally occurring sodium. No table salt is added.

16 Amino Acids

  • Alanine
  • Arginine
  • Aspartic Acid
  • Glutamic Acid
  • Glycine
  • Histidine
  • Isoleucine
  • Leucine
  • Methionine
  • Phenylalanine
  • Proline
  • Serine
  • Treonine
  • Tyrosine
  • Valine
  • Lysine

Not bad, right?

Has anyone else used Bragg’s Liquid Aminos? What’s the best way to use it? I don’t think it 100% tastes like soy sauce, but maybe I could get used to less of a salty flavor in my dishes? I already cut the salt as much as possible though, when following a recipe.

Roasted Almonds

Ingredients:

  • Raw almonds (as many as you want; I did maybe 1.5 cups?)
  • Bragg Liquid Aminos or soy sauce (amount will vary depending on how many almonds you have)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  2. In a medium bowl, coat almonds with Bragg’s or soy sauce. You want everything coated, but not too wet.
  3. Toast for 15-20 minutes, checking it a few times to make sure the nuts don’t burn.
  4. Remove from oven and let cool completely before transferring to a container. They will get more crunchy as they cool.

almonds

They were perfect! Like I mentioned, raw almonds are a little too soft for my taste, so this way I can enjoy the crunch of roasted almonds without the added fat/salt of the store-bought varieties (not to mention for much cheaper). I’ll admit that the soy-sauce version is a little more addicting (in my opinion), but that’s not a bad thing—I have these on hand as a healthy and tasty way to tame the hunger beast at work, not to mindlessly nosh on all day long!

On that note, HAPPY PASSOVER out there to those who are celebrating the holiday this week. I’ll admit that I’m not keeping Passover (i.e. abstaining from all bread products) as I’m more of a cultural Jew than a religious one (these days, anyway). But I am attending a Seder this weekend so later on I’ll post my UBER-easy, Passover-friendly dessert.

It’s almost bedtime up in here (yes, I’m an 80 year old inside a 24-year old body). Night!

Responses

  1. Cool stuff!!! I wonder if my health food store has it… and happy pesach!!!

  2. What a bummer about the pistachios you bought. 😦 I’d say things turned out ok, though. These look tasty! Thanks for the info about the Bragg’s. I’ve never tried it, and it looks like it could be a good addition to the pantry collection!

  3. Those look good! Roasted almonds are way better than raw. Haha, I love your hippie comment!

    That does suck about the pistachios, though!

    I’m totally more of a cultural Jew, too, but I usually do Passover just to challenge myself. Although last year I was pretty miserable and ended up eating pounds of potatoes and chocolate, heh. I just found out I can’t have oats or peanut butter… whoa. I really wanted oats this morning but I had noodle kugel instead and that was a pretty good sub. 😉 I think I’m going to cave and eat pb, though – how else can I bear to eat matzoh? 😉 Basically I think I’m just gonna skip bread and wheat and PIBE (play it by ear) from there!

  4. its amazing the products people come up with

  5. Mmmmm, I love almonds in all forms! Especially the kind from the fair with tons of sugar 🙂

  6. so cool!!

    p.s. i am also an 80 year old in a 24-year-old body (ok, maybe like 85 😉 )

  7. omg! I LOVE Braggs! I have been using it for years. I use it as a salad dressing, spritz it on my veggies, as soy sauce, in soups, stir-fries – you name it!

  8. […] in Honor of Passover As I mentioned in my last post, I consider myself a “cultural” Jew (or secular, or “bad” depending on who you ask). And if […]

  9. Wow, what a neat idea! I’ll have to try this without a doubt. I’ve never heard of Bragg Liquid Aminos until now. Thank you. 🙂 Happy Easter to you too.

  10. P.S-Check out my nut buttered bursts recipe: http://expressiveworld.com/?p=536

    Only just recently found them being sold at Holland and Barratt in the UK. Hmmm lol

  11. I LOVE BRAGGS!! I put it on everything. grains, beans, vegetables, delicious!!!!!

  12. […] chard, cook until it starts to wilt. Season with Bragg’s Liquid Aminos, balsamic vinegar, and lemon juice—a splash […]

  13. […] I topped both the tomato and the salmon with a spray of olive oil from my Misto, Bragg’s Liquid Aminos, and black pepper, and broiled it (with the rack about 6 inches from the coils) for about 12 […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

