Posted by: Hallie | April 10, 2009

Tzimmes, in Honor of Passover

As I mentioned in my last post, I consider myself a “cultural” Jew (or secular, or “bad” depending on who you ask). And if there’s one thing about the culture, it’s that some good eatin’ goes on inside Jewish homes. Since last night was the first night of Passover, I wanted to update a classic Jewish side dish, tzimmes. When I think of tzimmes, I think of the sugary-sweet carrots that my mom loves. For my version, I adapted the recipe in Veganomicon to reflect my tastes and what I had on hand. As the V’con authors note, if you didn’t want to call this tzimmes, you could go with “roasted sweet potatoes with (carrots in my case),” but that wouldn’t be as fun, right?

Sweet-Potato & Carrot Tzimmes with Raisins

Ingredients:

  • 1 medium sweet potato, peeled and cut into cubes
  • 2-3 medium carrots, peeled and chopped about the same size as the potatoes
  • ½ tbsp olive oil
  • ½ tbsp real maple syrup
  • ½ tsp cinnamon
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • ¼ cup raisins

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350
  2. On a rimmed baking sheet or casserole dish, place the sweet potato and carrots. 
  3. Toss remaining ingredients (except raisins) with the potato/carrot mixture until well coated.
  4. Cover with aluminum foil and bake for 25 minutes. 
  5. Remove the foil, add the raisins, stir to combine, and continue to bake for another 25-30 minutes, uncovered. Serves 1-2.

tzimmes

For dinner, I had the tzimmes with a chicken sausage link and sautéed greens—that’s what’s peeking out of the corner of the photo. Today, I had the leftovers with Trader Joe’s Indian Fare Madras Lentil meal. (For processed, shelf-stable packaged food, the Madras Lentil from TJ is pretty good with decent nutritional stats—minus the high sodium content.) It was great both ways! However, I didn’t like the raisins in the dish…they were soft right out of the oven, but then got rock-hard and hurt my teeth. Also, I didn’t really taste the maple syrup so I’d probably omit that. It was sweet enough.

I have a busy, fun weekend coming up. I’m going camping with Mitch, his mom, and our dogs. We’re spending the night at Anza Borrego Desert State Park with the hopes of seeing some of the wildflowers that bloom in the late winter/early spring each year. It’s actually a little late in the season, so we might not see much in the way of wildflowers. It will be fun either way though.

And since we’re going with Mama, we’re eating well on this trip: tortilla chips & homemade guacamole, turkey/veggie Paninis, s’mores, and breakfast is eggs, bacon, and sticky buns. Plus some alcoholic beverages. I’m going to try to enjoy myself, but not overdo it at the same time (especially since, when we come back Sunday, I’m attending a Seder with more decadent eats, as noted above). We’re going to have to go on some LONG hikes to work all that off, but it’ll be a blast!

Do you like camping? Where’s your favorite place to camp? I was always a hotel girl, but now I love it. My rule, though, is that the campground has to have a toilet. Other than that, I’m ok with roughing it…for a day or two.

Responses

  1. I’ve never been camping, but I am trying to convince mark to take me.

    Thanks for the tzimmes recipe. I’ve never heard of it, but I already can tell I would like your version. 😀

  2. Yay, Passover! I’m going to have to try that recipe, with some modifications like you suggested. Maybe golden raisins. 🙂

    I haven’t been camping in ages, but for my birthday we’re going glamping, aka glamour camping. Champagne, gourmet food, Le Petit Ecolier s’mores, outdoor yoga in the morning, gossip by the campfire. I’m excited!

  3. gosh this sounds so good!

  4. […] @ Healthy Twists inspired me to recreate a really tasty dish she made a few nights ago – its called tzimmies. It was a really simple yet delicious dish – sweet potato, carrots, cinnamon, maple syrup, and a […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

