Posted by: Hallie | April 12, 2009

Family Camping Adventure, Completed!

I’m back to civilization! We spent a lovely night camping, spending time together, oh and eating and drinking, of course! I definitely overate, but it was all delicious and “worth it.” I know I’m not the only one who overdid it this weekend, right? I am looking forward to lots of healthy eats and toxin-eliminating exercise (hello, yoga!) this upcoming week. I actually might be embarking on a really cool new fitness/nutrition plan pretty soon, but a) I don’t know if it’s going to happen and b) I probably can’t talk about it in too much detail if it does—which might cause some problems for blogging, right? If it happens I will find a way to talk about it though, so stay tuned!

I didn’t take food photos this weekend, so just picture guacamole with extra cilantro, grilled vegetable/turkey sandwiches on freshly baked sourdough bread, and my very first (uh…and second) s’mores, made with Ghirardelli dark chocolate. Picture vodka tonics consumed above 2500 feet, while you’re at it.

I did however, take a few photos from our campsite and on the hike Mitch and I went on this morning. I think my favorite photos are the one with my dog hanging out in the dirt (she smells great now, let me tell you) and the ones that show the damage that wildfire can have on vegetation.

DSCF2396 DSCF2391

DSCF2388 DSCF2389

DSCF2381 DSCF2380

(Hopefully, you can click on any of those photos for a larger view).

I think Mitch’s mom had a great time, which was the most important thing. We didn’t get to hike as much as we would have liked to, because we realized when we got up there that dogs aren’t allowed on the trails at Anza Borrego. Way too much cactus, too hot, etc. Next time we camp, Mitch and I will go for at least two nights and we’ll leave Nina with “Grandma,” or we’ll make sure we can take her on hikes wherever we go. One night just isn’t enough, especially with all the work it entails (or…so I’m told…).

I had to rush home and get ready—I shampooed twice and I think my hair still smells like campfire—for my family’s Passover Seder (well, my family wasn’t hosting it, but it’s the one we were going to). I was assigned dessert for the potluck…so I brought along my really super complicated dessert recipe:

chocolate teaser

Ok, I lied about the complicated part. But I think there is an art to perfecting the chocolate-covered strawberry, so I will be doing a step-by-step explanation of my method. I came home with an empty plate, so clearly they were a hit!

I’m off to get my life together and get to bed a decent hour (tent sleeping + alcohol does not a good night’s sleep make). Laters!

Responses

  1. What a fun weekend!

    The chocolate covered strawberries look so good!

  2. love camping! I’m so jealous!!! Sounds like a blast.

    those chocolate covered beauties look delish! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

