Posted by: Hallie | May 1, 2009

Mexican Food Diet = FAIL

If I’m going to blog about trying lose weight, I should go all in, right? So I usually weigh in on Fridays…and this morning I saw a number I haven’t seen in a LONG time, and not the good kind. So clearly my first week of trying to be more diligent about my eating and exercise didn’t go as well as I hoped. I have been able to fit in working out most days, even though my schedule is uber-crazy. But I did eat Mexican food three days in a row (although to my credit twice we cooked it at home, and all three times I had “healthy” versions of the real dishes) so I’ve learned that’s not the way to go, it would appear.

Next week my schedule is totally off, between staying at Mitch’s dad’s house for two days while the condo gets tented, then my birthday and then my birthday party. This weekend is nuts too, actually, because I’m doing work-related things on Saturday and Sunday.

So to keep my sanity, here are my goals for the next week:

  • Schedule workouts and stick to the plan
  • SLEEP…bare minimum 7 hrs a night, should try for 8. Makes SUCH a difference in my mood, hunger level, and obviously energy.
  • Work back in strength training. I’ve really slacked on the gym and I was trying to use the 30 Day Shred and yoga as a replacement. For me (as Randy on Idol would say) that doesn’t work, without also pumping some iron at the gym. And I actually like lifting weights and I pay for the stupid membership, so I gots to use it!
  • Increase fruits and veggies and limit artificial sweeteners. I’m going to Palm Springs in three weeks, which = bathing suit in public. That terrifies me, honestly. But hopefully some smaller diet changes can help me feel slightly more comfortable wearing something revealing in the short time I have before the trip.

In keeping with the veggie plan, I made a big stirfry to go with our Friday night steak dinner. For the two of us, I sautéed 1.5 large zucchinis, a little over 1 bunch asparagus, 2 green onions and about 1/2 cup bok choy in spray oil and seasonings. I probably ate a little less than half of that mixture. With it we had grilled marinated top sirloin (a pretty lean cut) and garlic cheese bread. I asserted myself and asked Mitch to make my bread light on the cheese and light on the olive oil.

DSCF2531

The steak was about the size of my palm, so I think it was a “serving”? I had about 3/4 of it. And I had about 4/5 of the bread…I cut it in half, but then I took more from the second half because it was that good! But I didn’t eat it all…baby steps!

Mitch said people were going to see my dinner and say, “Hallie, that’s not very healthy…get a new Twist!” But I think for a Friday-night meal, it wasn’t too bad, I know the bread wasn’t great, health-wise, but overall I think it was OK. And we ate at home, so give me a point for Bobbi’s TSL challenge!

For dessert, we had these:

DSCF2538

Did you know Mother’s Cookies went out of business awhile back and then the rights to the brand, and the recipes, was purchased by Kellogg’s? I got this “sample” from Foodbuzz, and I’ll bet I’m one of the only “healthy” bloggers who opted in on this one. Whatever, I have a hard time turning down free food especially sweets! Some of you know what I mean.

The good? I think these taste pretty much exactly the same as you’d remember them. I haven’t had these cookies in YEARS (and the company went out of business, hmm) and they were sweet and crunchy and everything you want in an HFCS-laden treat.

The bad? 6 cookies is 150 calories. SIX. They go down way too fast (that’s what she said) and you want six more. I might have to gift these to my coworkers.

DSCF2548

These puppies are heading back to the stores in a few months, so be on the lookout if you want some nostalgic little desserts. Oh and if you’re a total FREAK about social media and learning all you can about it’s uses (like me), check out the Mother’s Website. They’re trying to get the word out basically all through social media…and here I am, blogging about it. Kudos, Kellogg’s. Kudos.

Dang is it really 11? Must get to bed NOW if I’m keeping that sleep promise…night!

Responses

  1. Hope you got some sleep!! I think your goals are excellent and doable! Mmmm animal crackers, so bad but so good 🙂

  2. WE CAN DO THIS GIRL!!!

  3. im not going to lie…..those circus cookie are amazing!

  4. Good luck losing weight! It sounds like you are really into it. I work at a weight loss clinic and I have some advice for you; try not to weigh yourself everyday. Maybe once or twice a week would be better, just to keep yourself on track. Remember, girls hold onto water during their periods, and our weights fluctuate a lot as a result. Also, if you are going to start working out more you might gain muscle, which weighs more than fat!
    I’ll be following you! Good luck 🙂

  5. Here’s a tip as far as portioning: invest in a digital food scale. They’re $20 or less, and totally worth it. Once you start weighing you’ll be really surprised how much a 3-4 oz serving of meat actually is. Also be careful with overdoing it on the veggies. Yes, they’re great for you but some have more calories, fat, and carbs than you would think and you probably want to limit quantities of each individual veggie to a cup.

  6. “They go down way too fast (that’s what she said) and you want six more.”

    el. oh. el.

    Ditto the food scale idea. I have one and love it. It’s an eye opener for portion sizes. I rarely use it now b/c I have such a good idea on portion sizes but it helped insanely when I was just getting started.

    Also, in my weight loss endeavors, exercise is ALWAYS the key. I know some people can drop weight quick just by making small diet changes (usually men, like my BF) but I’m not one of those people!

  7. Can I ditto a ditto? I love my food scale. Learning to control portion sizes was a major part of my process!

    I love zucchini and asparagus. Good choices!

    • Hey girls, thanks for the suggestions! I actually have a food scale that I love. I don’t use it for steak/chicken, although maybe I should. My reasoning is that I so pick apart my steak, cutting around any fatty parts (because, ew) that I always leave at least an ounce on the plate, often more. But I guess I should weigh it out and go from there?

      I also feel like I have a fairly good handle on portion size, but given my recent weight gain, maybe I need to go back to portion control 101. Reminders never hurt!

  8. What are you making for Cinco De Mayo??? I’m making quesadillas and guacamole, but I need a side dish suggestion that isn’t rice. Any ideas?

    • Mexican Carrots? I don’t know the real name for them but I am obsessed. Mitch’s dad’s wife Annie makes them by the bucketful and I could seriously eat the whole bucket. Or beans? I’ve seen some easy, healthy “refried” beans recipes (sans lard). We’re staying with Mitch’s dad and Annie tonight while our condo is tented, and Annie’s making pollo asada and carne asada for her son whose birthday is today. So I’m not making anything…I ususally don’t do anything festive for Cinco de Mayo because a) Seis de Mayo is a way more important day 😉 and b) Cinco de Mayo is a totally Americanized holiday, Mexicans don’t celebrate it, and yes I know I’m white but still I try to fight the man however I can.

      Although, I LOVE guacamole so I’d take any excuse to eat it (Used to hate it…you’d be so PROUD of me I’ve come so far).

  9. Mmm, Mexican food! I feel ya, though! Trying to get on the a healthier bandwagon this week myself. There has been way too much sugar (albeit fair-trade, organic, yada yada yada) in my life lately! I like your game plan! 🙂

    And I think your meal looks pretty nutritious – bread has it’s place and you didn’t go overboard at all!

  10. […] I did pretty good with last week’s goals. I did better on the sleep thing, although I need to work on that even more. I’ve also stopped […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

