Posted by: Hallie | May 9, 2009

Foodies are Easy to Shop For

Happy Saturday! I decided to blog instead of doing the dishes. The downside to hosting your birthday party at home is that the next day, you’re left with the cleaning! Oh well, it was worth it.

I wasn’t a very good photographer last night. I meant to snap a few shots of the spread before people came over, but we ran a little late…and then I forgot! But it looked a little like this (which is a photo from our Super Bowl party):

DSCF1671

We also served shrimp/chicken egg rolls, Mitch’s “Greek bagels,” and a few guests brought additional eats (AMAZING strawberries and a cheese/dried fruit plate from a local cheese shop). I was going to make the artichoke-dip recipe from Eating Clean magazine…but someone had already recycled my magazine (accidentally), I couldn’t find the recipe online, I couldn’t find the magazine at Target, and when I realized I forgot to buy artichokes, I decided it just wasn’t in the cards. I also made cupcakes (from a Barefoot Contessa mix and a Trader Joe’s mix—I subbed applesauce for some of the butter in each and they still came out great).

The party was fun! A bunch of friends from high school, along with newer friends from work, came celebrate. After a few drinks, we played Apples to Apples which was a riot! It’s a word-association game, but trust me, it’s great for a group and we had a lot of fun (even if I only won one round…I was entertaining myself by picking the most random, unrelated words because it was funny to me!).

Of course, the company of my friends was all I really wanted for my birthday, but my friends are awesome and got me some really cool gifts. I guess my friends know where my interests lie:

bday gifts

I’ll admit, when I saw the “H” mug, I totally thought of Kath and the other bloggers that have these Anthropologie mugs.

Among other things, I also got a really cute apron and some tea towels, which can double as a babushka (but only if you’ve had three vodka/sodas).

ready to cook

See the box to my left? That’s OXO Salad Spinner, another gift from a friend. I’d been whining to Mitch about how I want a salad spinner because I am really trying to minimize my waste in the kitchen. Salad spinner = no paper towels needed to dry lettuce!

So I guess I’m pretty easy to shop for. Basically, anything found in the kitchen section of Target, Bed Bath & Beyond, and especially Anthropologie, I will love. Everything I got was so thoughtful and really made me appreciate the great people I am lucky to have in my life.

Are you easy to shop for? Do you have a  “go-to” gift for people who are hard to shop for?

I’m making Sloppy Joe’s for dinner tonight—I need a relaxing night in after the craziness of last week. Tomorrow morning, I’m taking my mom to The Naked Cafe for brunch. I’ve never been there before, but I wanted to go somewhere that wasn’t too expensive, wouldn’t have a crazy wait, and had some healthy brunch choices. I hope it’s good! Then I’m spending the afternoon with Mitch and his mom. She’s requested bowling, a Mitch-cooked dinner, and Marley & Me on DVD. Should be a fun, busy day!

Responses

  1. OMG you’re so cute!!!
    Go-to gift? I usually make a scarf… even if its the summer!

  2. haha i love your gifts and how you them all into one slammin’ cooking outfit 🙂

  3. He! You are too cute.

    I think I am pretty easy to shop for. Of course, people usually ask me what I want and I just tell them 🙂 My husband thinks it is weird that we do it this way in my family but whatever works, I guess.

  4. I’ve rocked the babushka once when it was raining 😉 Great gifts!!

    My go to gifts are usually some sort of gift card. Kind of lame but it gets the job done.

  5. What a fun party! Sweet gifts you got, too!

    My salad spinner just broke! It is missing the crucial part that makes it spin. 😉 But they are great when they work!

  6. Love your gifts – I would take them all too! Us foodies are an easy breed to shop for. 🙂

    And I know what you mean about the salad spinner, I’m in love with mine!

  7. Awesome gifts, I definitely need a salad spinner too!

  8. Foodies are easy to shop for! I love the things you received. You have some great people who know you well 🙂

  9. […] my birthday party, I ended up with a fridge full of random eats. I have a Costco tub of red-pepper hummus, snap peas […]

  10. Oh wow, such an awesome time! And I should think of buying a salad spinner, I heard those are great for keeping it fresh longer!


Leave a Reply

Categories

