Posted by: Hallie | May 11, 2009

Ugly Yet Delicious: Humamole

And another week begins… and it’s a busy one for me, that’s for sure!

After my birthday party, I ended up with a fridge full of random eats. I have a Costco tub of red-pepper hummus, snap peas and baby carrots, salsa, and some avocados. Using the “things that taste good alone will probably taste good together” theory, and partly inspired by Eating Bender’s Humbecue creations, I created a heart-healthy spread to have with my delicious spelt tortillas from Trader Joe’s.

Allow me to present…humamole!

wrapped

Here’s the thing. Humamole looks NASTY…think something your dog does when she gets into the trash and eats expired cheese (GROSS! What dog does that? Not mine, that’s for sure!). But it sure was tasty. And those healthy fats + fiber kept me full for a long time, which is always a bonus.

Humamole

Ingredients:

  • ~1/2 avocado
  • 2 tbsp hummus (any flavor you’d like)
  • 1/2 tomato, chopped
  • black pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. Mash together avocado and hummus
  2. Gently fold in tomato
  3. Season with pepper (and salt if desired)
  4. That’s it! Serves 1.

As mentioned, I served my humamole in a spelt wrap with spinach. I also had a spinach salad on the side. I gave some of the spinach to my mom (the perfect Mother’s Day gift, really) and I still have SO much left (ah…Costco). I’m going to turn into Popeye, or maybe Angela (bring on the Green Monster! I have all the ingredients, just waiting for bananas to ripen a bit).

Goals for the week:

Overall I did pretty good with last week’s goals. I did better on the sleep thing, although I need to work on that even more. I’ve also stopped putting Splenda in my coffee. And I’ve been doing less emotional (stress, boredom, etc) eating, which is an ongoing struggle for me.

Now, I’m going to Palm Springs in a little over a week, I want to limit salty foods and artificial sweeteners, and increase my cardio before I leave in order to be as “un-puffy” as possible.

My other goals are to eat lots of fruits and veggies, limit my meat consumption as much as possible (does anyone else get bloated from chicken/beef/turkey?), and work on my fake tan (perfect timing, Erin!). I know that last goal isn’t health-related, but let’s call it a mental-health goal—silly as it sounds, I know I’ll feel better about myself if I have a bit of a tan and we all know how bad real tans are!

What is your goal for the week?

Responses

  1. Thanks for the shout out!! Your humamole looks sensational 🙂 I’m definitely going to have to try that and ignore any dog poo comparisons, lol.

    Good luck with your goals for this week! So exciting that you are going to Palm Springs – I’m envious.

    My goal for this week is to keep my sanity! Haha, work has been piling up…speaking of, I better get back to that…

    Have a great night!

  2. Humamole sounds amazing!! What a great idea, I can’t wait to try it out 🙂

  3. Sometimes the tastiest things aren’t the prettiest but who cares! That sounds fantastic!!

    Palm Springs? FUN! I think your goals sound great!!

  4. great idea! I’ll have to try that asap! Thanks for sharing 😉

  5. I love hummus and avocado together! Esp. on a turkey sandwich with bell pepper slices and maybe some aged white cheddar. Mmm.

    Goals this week were to cut back on sugar (um, that cookie I just ate and the soy frozen yogurt I had last night? Not helping) and eat well at a wedding this weekend. 2 picnics and a four-course tasting menu with wine pairings… wish me luck. I need all the luck I can get! 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

