Posted by: Hallie | May 16, 2009

My First (Real) Two-Piece

Today, I went shopping with a patient girlfriend and came home with this (bless you and your sales, Old Navy):

swimsuit 

Cute, huh?

And here’s why I found this important enough to blog about. When it comes to bathing suits, I still have the mentality of the Hallie who was 40 lbs. heavier than the Hallie of today. Back when I first lost weight, I bought a tankini—and would pull the top down to meet the bottom every time I wore it. All I had done was bought a one-piece that made it easier to go to the bathroom (my one-piece sisters know what I mean!).

For our upcoming trip to Palm Springs, Mitch basically told me I was “not allowed” to wear a one-piece. “My girlfriend will not look like a grandma” were his always-sensitive words. But honestly, my own body image is so warped, that I need others to tell me that I actually can wear a revealing suit, and it will be OK.

I went shopping with a friend who is a little beach bum/surfer girl. She helped me pick the right sizes and color combination. I usually go shopping by myself (when I shop, that is) but I knew I would need reinforcements here. I could not have asked for a better shopping partner. Gotta love girlfriends!

Wearing this suit by the pool in Palm Springs will push me SO beyond my comfort zone, and I think it’ll be a good experience for me (well, once the terror wears off. Yes, terror). No, I don’t have a perfect size 4 body, and my tummy will not be the flattest by the pool, but I think once I get out there, I’ll see that realistically, no one will care what I’m wearing or how I look in my suit but me. And to quote Martha, that’s a GOOD thing.

On a related note:

What foods should I eat until my trip (we leave Wednesday) to be as un-bloated as possible? I know the obvious foods to stay away from (anything processed/canned, frozen meals, deli meat, diet soda), but what would YOU eat or avoid if you were about to go on vacation? (Living on lettuce and grapes is not an option!)

Off to bed! Big morning tomorrow (details to come…but wish me luck!)

Responses

  1. YAY!! That’s SO exciting!! I wore my first bikini ever when I went to Cuba in March. I was scared too, but my boyfriend basically said the same thing to me 😛 Don’t worry, you’ll look fab 😀 Owning it is key!

    I stay away from sugar alcohols (sugar-free gum and anything with Splenda) because it tends to make me bloated. I also cut back on my carbs and fruit a little, just because it does tend to give me a squishy look.

    Oh yeah, and put the bikini on in the morning when you get there and take lots of pictures!! That’s what I did in Cuba, cause by the end of the week, all the rum and was starting to catch up with me 😛

  2. Congrats on the two piece! You will look fabulous!

  3. Wow congrats, I hope once I get down to my goal weight I’ll be buying one too.
    You’re going to look awesome in it!

  4. CUTE!!! I love Old Navy’s sales as well (that’s where I got mine from)! You will rock it!

  5. What causes me to bloat? Sodium, too much sugar, alcohol (beer), carbonated beverages, too much dairy, and too many fiber-filled veggies!

    How do I prevent bloating? Drink plenty of water, take amagnesium supplement (300-360 mg), or eat high mag. foods (almond milk!), take a calcium supplement (enough to make sure you get 10001-1200 mg per day).

    Goof luck!

  6. THAT is an adorable swimsuit!!! WTG!!!
    I would just stay hydrated before the trip… but thats just me 🙂

  7. I like to drink Yogi Detox Tea and eat a good hearty salad full of kale, jicama, and other natural detoxifiers. It’ll also make your skin glow!

  8. kudos to you for buying a 2 piece! i’m so glad! and doesn’t old navy have cuuuuute bathing suits?

    i’d probably avoid cruciferous vegetables the day of, too.

  9. you’ll look awesome!

    Avoid most foods that are white and you should be good to go 😉

    lots of water, too!

  10. I’m so proud of my Hallie 🙂 And jealous, someday I’ll be at two piece status as well! Ha, we’ll see…

    Body image is such a funny thing. I bet there will be TONS of girls at the beach who are much bigger than you are who wouldn’t even question wearing a bikini. Have a great time showing them up AND getting a well-deserved vaca! 😉

  11. yay what a cute 2 piece!!! have a wonderful timeeee

  12. i guess avoid gasy vegs like beans, cauliflower, and broccoli. drink lots of water and avoid too much sodium. and walk out there in that bikini with pride! i’m too shy to wear a bikini…but i guess i could try!

  13. Cute suit! I’m so glad your friend went with you!

    You will look great – just act confident and the rest falls into place! Hopefully you’ll be having too much fun to even worry about how you look!

    I think I’ve heard you are supposed to avoid drinking with straws! And gum and artificial sweeteners for sure!

  14. […] here) to take lots of pictures, although you probably won’t get to see me in the “famous” bathing suit (thank you all who left comments/tips on that post, BTW. Much appreciated!). Don’t think I can go […]

  15. […] how did I do with the “two piece in public” thing? It was hard not to let my insecurities get the best of me, but the few times we were at […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

