Posted by: Hallie | May 20, 2009

Pre-Vacation Soup Making

By the time you read this, I’ll be in Palm Springs! I’m hoping the trip is a really nice mix of activity (between the golf course, tennis court, pool, and gym), relaxation, and fun foods/drinks. Mitch’s dad and his wife are being so gracious in treating us to this lovely (and I might add, NEEDED) little getaway. I’m going to try (key word here) to take lots of pictures, although you probably won’t get to see me in the “famous” bathing suit (thank you all who left comments/tips on that post, BTW. Much appreciated!). Don’t think I can go there yet.

Before I left, I needed to use up as many vegetables as possible from my CSA bunch, so that meant one thing: SOUP! It’d been awhile since I made a big batch of vegetable soup, and I wanted to make something light and healthy that I could snack on next week. I’ll need it to get back on the healthy-eating train after what will most likely be a pretty indulgent trip (it’s VACATION after all…right?).

produce for soup

(Side note: I think Swiss chard is one of the prettiest vegetables out there. Those big bright leaves and colored stems just make me happy)

Into the crock pot went:

  • Carrots
  • Celery (include the leaves!)
  • Chard
  • Beet Greens (not shown)
  • Leeks
  • Zucchini
  • Chopped garlic (~2 tbsp)
  • 1 quart low-sodium chicken broth
  • 1 (16 oz) can fire-roasted diced tomatoes
  • 1 cup water (optional)
  • 2/3 cup fresh parsley
  • seasonings: black pepper, cayenne pepper, seasoned salt (just a tiny bit), hot sauce

I cooked the soup for about 8 hours overnight in the crock pot on low. The heavenly smell actually woke me up this morning (at about 5 AM…thanks, soup). I wish I had taken a photo of my crock pot, because last night it was filled almost to the brim with leafy greens. This morning, all the greens had cooked way down into the soup. I was a little worried about the greens wilting all the way, but they did just fine.

I packed the soup into containers to sit in the fridge.

CSA veggie soup

I can’t wait to dig into this! The last few soups I’ve made have been 100% vegetarian, and I think the chicken broth will add a really nice depth of flavor this time around (sorry, vegetarian amigos!).

I probably have about 10 cups of soup, which should last me awhile! I wonder if this soup will freeze well. I’ve frozen chili and other heartier soups, but I since this soup is 99% water, I’m afraid it might get icy and gross. Has anyone frozen homemade vegetable soup? Is it a good idea? Any tips?

Ok, I’m off to do some 8-minute abs (love that YouTube!) and finish getting ready. Mitch is out taking Nina for a run, and if I’m not ready to go when he gets back, I’ll be in trouble, haha.

See ya’ll on Friday! Wish me self-confidence, golf luck (oy…), and no sunburns! Try not to have too much fun in blog-land without me 😉

P.S. I got my packet to volunteer at the Rock and Roll Marathon on May 31! It’s going to be an exhausting weekend (although, I imagine it’ll be more tiring for those running the thing) but I’m really excited. I have no idea what I’ll be doing, but I’ll be there for all the action! Being around people who are all about health and fitness is SO motivating for me.

Responses

  1. Looks delicious. I would think it would be just fine in the freezer. You’ll have to keep it out for a while to let it thaw, but if you are only keeping it in there for a week I would think it would be just fine! Have fun on Vacation 🙂

  2. have an AMAZING vacation! I am so jealous 😉

  3. I hope vacation was amazing!!! As one who has just retaken her seat on the healthy eating train after a very indulgent vacation, I have to tell you that I’m jealous of your soup. It looks perfect!

    Oh, and I think swiss chard would do well in a beauty pageant too! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

