Posted by: Hallie | May 24, 2009

Active Indulgence in Palm Springs

Palm Springs (well, Palm Desert, technically) was SO nice! I only wish we could have stayed a few more days, but isn’t that usually the case with vacations? Mitch’s dad and his wife were SO gracious for hosting us for a mini-vacation. True to form, I didn’t take too many photos (I’ve got to be better about that!) but I did get a few shots from outside our room, to give you an idea of the scenery at the Shadow Ridge Resort:

view 2 view 3view 1view 4

When we arrived, we took a walk around the property, and then went to the store to pick up provisions. It was SO nice having a full kitchen; we didn’t eat out once during the trip. Mitch’s dad and his dad’s wife are awesome cooks, so we ate WELL and I was still able to squeeze in some healthy foods (oatmeal, fruit) along the way. There might have been a chocolate mousse pie and some peanut M&Ms that made more than one appearance. Looking back I’d give myself a C+ on the eating front, and considering it was a vacation, that’s not bad! I can’t wait to recreate some of the meals we were served, like spicy/sweet grilled pineapple and fresh spring rolls.

While the trip was filled with home-cooked yet indulgent meals, we were also VERY active (by my “vacation” standards anyway). If I get a C+ for food, I think I get an A for activity (ha, ha). On Thursday we played golf, and although we drove around in a cart, there was a fair walking during those 4.5 hours, not to mention working muscles that I don’t use much in my normal exercise routine (my forearms were SO sore!). I also went to the gym on Thursday (more of an excuse for alone time and sauna time, but I got in a decent workout nonetheless).

I didn’t take get photos of my golfing…it wasn’t that pretty. I’ve never played golf before, so I guess it’s not surprising I wasn’t exactly Tiger Woods out there. At first, I was getting frustrated because I couldn’t even hit the ball off the tee, but once I relaxed and just had fun, I started doing better. Funny how that works.

I did snap a few pics of Mitch doing his thing:

mitch golfing

However, he claimed that my photography was ruining his shots, and therefore I only got shots of his “bad” golfing. Whatever…still looks good and that’s all that matters.

On Friday, we took a 1.5 mile walk in the morning, and played a little tennis in the afternoon. In between there we lounged by the pool and even went for a run. OK…that’s not entirely true. Mitch went for a run and I attempted to keep up with him. I lasted maybe 1/2 mile before I had to stop and walk/jog the rest of the way, feeling disappointed at myself for not hanging in.

Looking back, it was a doomed run: I drank alcohol the night before, my lunch of champions (honeydew, a cracker with peanut butter, tortilla chips with guacamole, and a handful of peanut M&Ms) wasn’t the best pre-run fuel and hadn’t settled enough, it was 100+ degrees, and Mitch’s “slow” is my “fast” running so it was really hard to keep up. But I still felt really defeated and spent part of the afternoon sulking and feeling sorry for myself.

Runners, how do you mentally put a “bad” run behind you? I know they won’t all be great/effortless, but it’s the less-than-stellar runs, and the ones where I let my head get the best of me, that really make it hard to start motivated it make me doubt that I’ll ever “be a runner” for real.

And how did I do with the “two piece in public” thing? It was hard not to let my insecurities get the best of me, but the few times we were at the pool, I just tried to push those thoughts away and instead focused on how good the warm sun felt on my (sunscreen-laden) skin, and the on the fun of splashing around in the pool’s refreshing water. I’d definitely call it a “two steps forward, one step back” kinda thing in the self-confidence department, but I know that if I just keep working on my goals (both my physical and emotional ones), I can only go up from here.

I’ve got a few cooking projects planned, but some grocery shopping must be done first! What are you guys doing the rest of the weekend? I don’t have anything crazy planned, just getting ready for next week, hopefully making it to yoga to stretch out my tired muscles.

It’s un-officially summertime—woohoo! I’m determined to make this summer a great (read: fun) one.

Responses

  1. I guess I just don’t think about them as “bad runs” I think of it more as a “bad day for running”. In other words, when I go for a run and it’s just not the best run, and I’m sore fast and I am thinking about other things, I just blame it on the day and the condition of my mind and body at that time. More than likely the next day I’m great.

  2. I’m sure you rocked the bathing suit!! I’m not a runner but I’ve read enough blogs by now that I can tell you everyone experiences “bad runs.” Those ones will just make the next one 10x better!

  3. I’m totally not a runner, but i know the feeling of having a “lame” workout… it happens!! Glad you had a good trip.

  4. Nice golf shot!

    As for the bad runs, those just stink! I say when a run is just off, stop and do something else. Some days we’re ust destined not to run and there’s no point in pushing it and getting more distracted. Then set a plan for the next day’s run and get excited for that!

  5. Your vacation sounds so wonderful! I’m glad you had a nice trip.

    I’m too much of a chicken to play golf in front of people. I’d have to spend some secret time at a driving range first. Hee hee. Good for you for getting out there and just having fun. I should follow suit!

    I’m sorry your run wasn’t the best, but I’m sure that there is an awesome run for you on the horizon!

  6. wow, sounds like you had such great fun, and great eats, too!
    That sucks about the bad run…but perhaps you just needed a short break…you can always try to jazz things up by trying other kinds of work outs!

  7. way to balance the vacation food with vacation activity! i’m glad you’re feeling better about the run — it’s hard when you are doing something alongside someone who seems “better” or “faster,” etc. but it sounds like you know the circumstances that made you feel lousy about the run. you did what you could — and you’re awesome for trying! don’t beat yourself up. you set your own standards, no one else! and excellent job with the two-piece confidence. you focused on you and how you felt rather than on what the others thought. that’s the key, and it’s sooooooooo hard to do. but you did it — like you said, nowhere to go but up 🙂

  8. […] for Memorial Day This Memorial Day, we kept it pretty low-key after our little trip to Palm Springs, but I still wanted to feel festive. And what’s more festive on Memorial Day than BBQ? I wanted […]

  9. Hallie,

    Great meeting you last night. THANK YOU again for volunteering, so awesome!!

  10. […] 1 tablespoon of hoisin sauce. I usually eat salmon plain, but we had grilled salmon with hoisin in Palm Springs and it was incredible. It was (almost) just as yummy tonight. The broiled tomatoes are better at […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

