Posted by: Hallie | June 1, 2009

Lentils for the Non-Marathoner

Yesterday, I volunteered at the finish line of the San Diego Rock N Roll Marathon from 6 AM until about 2. It was definitely an experience, I will say that! For the first few hours, I filled trash cans with ice + water bottles, and then I helped prep the medal section. Then, once the race started, I handed out wet towels to the runners after the crossed the line. I saw lots of smiles, lots of limping, several Elvi, a man collapse, some tears, Batman, Robin, and a running banana. I saw skinny runners and heavy runners. I saw the 76-year-old woman who has run EVERY RnR Marathon (this year was #12 I think) and I saw some wheelchair racers that left me pretty much speechless.

All in all, in was a wild experience, and I’m glad I did it. But, I don’t think marathon running is for me. HUGE props to those who can do it, but I don’t think I ever want to do that to my body. I was looking up 1/2 marathon training plans today though…I’m thinking about adding a fitness section to this blog, mainly to keep track of my workouts as Mitch and I strength-train together, and I train for November’s 10k. I know I have to get through the 10k first, but I just love making goals and plans 🙂 so we’ll see.

When I got home, I asked Mitch what he wanted for dinner and all he said was “vegetables.” He’d had a less-than-healthy weekend so far (and I might have been right there with him at the Mexican food joint on Saturday after our 1.5-hour workout…whoops) so he was craving vegetables, big time. Of course, I seized the opportunity and roasted every vegetable we had in the house. I told Mitch he was on his own for a main (side?) dish, and I threw some Latin-type seasonings and ingredients into a pot and came up with a flavorful, vegetarian dish.

Mexican (Inspired) Lentils

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 to 1/3 cup onion, chopped finely
  • 1 jalapeno, diced
  • 1 tsp garlic
  • 1/2 cup red lentils (or whatever you’ve got)
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp chile powder
  • 3/4 cup water
  • chopped cilantro, to garnish

Directions:

  1. In a medium saucepan, sauté onion for about a minute. Add garlic and jalapeno, and cook for another minute or so.
  2. Add the lentils and stir to coat.
  3. Add the water, stir, and simmer lentils until tender. Most of the water should be absorbed.
  4. Garnish with cilantro and serve. Makes two (spicy!) portions

mexican lentils

This was incredible filling (almost too filling…hello, fiber) but I estimate this whole dinner was about 300 calories. Perfect for someone who volunteered at a marathon, not ran it! If you like spicy food, I highly recommend this dish. It would also make a great taco filling. Lentils have 170 calories, 13 grams of fat, 7 grams of fiber and little fat per serving, FYI. Mitch doesn’t care for them, but that means more for me! I had the leftovers (cold) in a whole-wheat tortilla with avocado and bell pepper for lunch today…yum.

Before I go (I have papers to edit and beds to sleep in!) I wanted to give two little updates:

  1. We never “found” the chicken bone that I SWEAR I saw Nina eat the day after Memorial Day. This leads us to believe…that it didn’t really happen, and I somehow just imagined it. Once again, Hallie freaks out for nothing. But at least my baby is ok.
  2. I have still not had any frozen yogurt. The craving is still there. Just thought ya’ll should know.

Night!

Responses

  1. One of the things I’ve learned is that every runner has their distance. Some people are distance runners and love the challenge of a marathon, some are speed runners and are all about a fast 5k. I have no idea what my distance is yet, but I hope to find out! I love setting goals like races too 🙂

    You just reminded me I have lentils I should eat up!

  2. Amazing looking meal. I haven’t had lentils for so long, and they are so good for you! I’ll have to break them out some time soon 🙂

  3. That sounds really good! I love lentils I just never get around to cooking them!

  4. Hey, we’re local! glad you found me! Love your blog and can’t wait to try the lentils!

  5. i don’t think a marathon is for me, either! my body’s just not made for that. i can’t wait to get back to 3-5 mile fun runs 🙂

    your lentil dinner looks so delicious and spicy!

  6. I’m with ya on the marathon! When I finished my half last year, I was like no WAY would I want to be halfway done with that!

    Although I couldn’t even run 3 miles straight at the start of last year, so it is kind of amazing what your body can do. Still, I don’t think a full is for me!

    I need to make some lentils!

  7. YUM!! That sounds delicious! Thanks for the recipe! Great site!


Leave a Reply

Categories

