Posted by: Hallie | June 3, 2009

Broiled Salmon and Tomato Dinner for One

I made a super easy, healthy dinner tonight. Since I went to yoga after work, I knew I would need to eat something that would be QUICK, since I’d be starving. Also, since Mitch was having dinner with his mom tonight, I’d have to make something all by myself.

I stopped at the grocery store after yoga, and I literally walked around for 20 minutes trying to figure out what I wanted. I went from the frozen meals to the seafood counter, to the soup aisle to the seafood counter, to the cracker aisle (where Mary’s Gone Crackers were on sale, yay! But dinner, Mary’s does not make) and back to the seafood counter. Hmm…guess I knew what I was craving all along, huh?

I picked up a 1/2 pound of wild sockeye salmon as well as some tomatoes. The fish was more expensive than the Atlantic salmon, but I’m pretty sure it was the more sustainable choice. I try to be really careful about my seafood choices. I came home and turned on the broiler before I even set down my purse.

Broiling is a great way to quickly prepare foods like fish, vegetables, and our personal favorite around here, garlic-cheese bread (we’re not eating much of that these days, unfortunately).  I topped both the tomato and the salmon with a spray of olive oil from my Misto, Bragg’s Liquid Aminos, and black pepper, and broiled it (with the rack about 6 inches from the coils) for about 12 minutes.

When the salmon was done, I covered it with 1 tablespoon of hoisin sauce. I usually eat salmon plain, but we had grilled salmon with hoisin in Palm Springs and it was incredible. It was (almost) just as yummy tonight. The broiled tomatoes are better at Ruth’s Chris, but I guarantee mine are a lot healthier and just as filled with lycopene.

This meal was heavy on the protein, but a) I’ve been trying to eat more protein since I’ve been strength training, and b) this meal comes in under 600 calories, so I think it was a smart choice. Plus, I really really like salmon and don’t eat it very often 🙂

Note: I like my salmon more cooked than most people do, so if you broil salmon or any fish, keep a close eye on it and start checking for doneness at about 8 minutes for salmon, 5 for lighter fish like tilapia.

broiled salmon tomato

I served my dinner with a slice of sprouted barley bread from Trader Joe’s. More specifically, from work because every week, one of the volunteers at the museum brings in TJ goodies for the taking …muffins, cookies, loaves of bread, etc. I usually never take anything he brings, but I saw the sprouted bread and had to carpe diem.

Are there health advantages to eating sprouted bread versus regular? I could consult the Google…but there is DVR to be watched. Actually, first I have to do tricep dips and concentration curls. Mitch gave me homework to do while he was at his mom’s! I’m not sure if we’ll train together for more than a few months, but the accountability is doing me good, so far…

Oh and Happy National Running Day, all you crazy running fools out there (I say that with nothing but admiration and love)!

Responses

  1. LOVELY dinner! I have to get some salmon this week, I’m craving it big time!

  2. mmmm looks like you like your salmon cooked like I do! yum! and i’m curious what kind of yoga you did, do tell!

    • Annabel: I do Vinyasa yoga, at a place in Pacfic Beach. I’m a yoga newbie, so I take the beginner’s class about once a week, and it’s plenty challenging. I love it because I can tell I’m working hard, but it’s also relaxing, and the instructors are great about reminding us that it’s not a competition, and we should be kind to our bodies at all times. I think the stretching part is SO important when you do weight lifting or heavy cardio…it balances it out, you know? And I feel like it helps create long, lean muscles…but that might just be in my head 😛

  3. In regards to the sprouted bread question, I have no idea! I just like it better – if there is you’ll have to let us know 🙂

  4. Great idea putting hoisin sauce on your salmon, I’d never thought of that! The tomatoes look great too. As for sprouted bread, I wish I could help you on that one (seeing as though I’m an RD and should know this) but I’m not sure I know of any benefits! Please let us know what you find out.


Leave a Reply

Categories

