Posted by: Hallie | June 11, 2009

My, How Time Flies

Hey! Miss me?

I know I haven’t posted in awhile, and there’s a few reasons for that. I’ve been working out more after work, so by the time we get home from the gym and have dinner, there’s not much time left for blogging before bedtime! It takes me awhile to write and edit each post, so if it’s too late, it can’t be done.

Also, I feel like I haven’t had that much to say, so I figured, “why create content just for the sake of updating?” Our new workout schedule has meant more leftovers and less creative (read: blog-worthy) meals. Mitch has been cooking more and we’ve been resorting to our time-tested favorites, rather than my crazy experiments. I hope that changes soon, though, as I do love to cook! I have TONS of respect for daily or near-daily bloggers, but I’ve come to terms with the fact that I’m not going to be one of them. And that’s ok. I’m still here…the thrill of blogging is is not gone yet!

And the craziness isn’t stopping anytime soon! This whole month is ridiculous for me, how about you? Tomorrow I’m flying to San Francisco to attend my little brother’s college graduation on Saturday. It’s a quick trip…I’m going up Friday night and coming home late Saturday night. I wish I could stay longer, because Santa Cruz and the surrounding area is so much fun. Mitch and I visited my bro about a year ago and I fell in love with the hippie little town and the awesome hiking trails in the nearby Big Basin Redwoods State Park.
Halliewood 

Those were some big trees!

I can’t believe my little brother is graduating college! We didn’t have the greatest relationship growing up, but we’ve gotten a lot closer in the past 5 or 6 years (right around the time my parents got divorced. Funny how that works).

dave and hallie

He’s one of those “too smart for his own good” types, but I just I know that he’s got amazing things ahead of him…he just has to get past the current job market first! Man, I don’t envy this year’s grads. He’s a Politics/Economics double major and he was selected to read a speech during Saturday’s ceremony. I’m told by him that I will be inspired.

And since this is a food/recipe blog after all, I wanted to share the lunch I threw together this morning. I debated buying my lunch, but my frugal side won out and I created this slaw/salad (before I had my coffee, thank you!).

slaw salad

Ingredients:

  • ~ 1/3 head green cabbage, sliced thinly
  • ~1/4 red bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 oz Greek yogurt
  • 1.5 oz canned chicken (stolen from tonight’s dinner prep, SHH!)
  • 1 TBPS Annie’s Light Gingerly Salad Dressing
  • ~1/2 tsp sesame oil
  • sprinkle of black pepper
  • 1.5 TBSP each fresh cilantro and basil

It smelled SO good and I was pretty proud of myself for making use of whatever ingredients I could find in my kitchen. If I had green onions and sesame seeds, I would have added them…but I don’t so I didn’t!

Speaking of using up ingredients, does anyone have a suggestion for a recipe using leeks? Mitch “thinks” he doesn’t like leeks and I would like to prove him wrong. Preferably with something simple and healthy, of course!

Responses

  1. Congrats to your brother, how exciting!!!!
    Hope you have a safe and fun trip!

  2. Hey, I’m going to Big Basin for my birthday glamping trip!

    I looove leeks! I think they add the nicest flavors to sauteed anything. My favorite thing to do lately is saute a bunch of them and then add cabbage and cook that instead soft but crispy. Or yesterday morning I sauteed leeks with zucchini and added eggs and made a breakfast wrap with white cheddar and avocado…yum!

    I also really like this leek confit. http://www.bonappetit.com/magazine/2008/10/leek_confit I use less butter, though!

  3. Hi Hallie!

    Here are some leek recipes from one of my favorite food blogs 🙂

    http://www.101cookbooks.com/ingredient/leek

  4. Great looking salad! I wish i could help you out with the leeks, but I’ve never used them before. I’m sure Alton Brown on the Food Network would have some good ideas!
    Have fun at your bros graduation. My brother is 12 (crazy, I know!) so I have a while before he graduates!

  5. Congrats to the little bro! I use them on baked or even in mashed potatoes. Rachel Ray has a recipe for bacon, leek, and tomato mashed potatoes that you can easily google and it was awesome. It uses chicken broth instead of milk and butter so it’s much healthier than standard potatoes.

  6. This month is pure insanity here as well! CONGRATS to your little bro!!

  7. hahah the lamest recipe but best of all time for leeks is simply grilled with salt and pepper on a grill or in the oven. You reaaally can’t beat that!! 🙂

    I’m sure that pasta salad became the center of attention at work! hahah it really does look SUPER yummy!! You go girl!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

