Posted by: Hallie | June 15, 2009

“World Famous”

Last Thursday, Mitch and I needed a quick, easy meal since we went to the gym after work and came home kinda late. We’re now in our third week of working out together, and honestly, I might have given up at this point if it wasn’t for Mitch encouraging me and helping hold me accountable for my workouts.

Realistically, I know I’m not going to change the way I look that dramatically in three weeks, and I should allow myself as much time as it takes to meet my goals. Yet I’m fighting with my inner five-year-old who wants to stamp her feet and shout, “I want it NOW!” I’m trying to stay positive, but I go through frequent bouts of frustration, and it’s hard to keep my chin up sometimes. I have to remind myself that I am lucky to be healthy, lucky to be employed, lucky to have wonderful people in my life, and +/- 10 lbs does not really matter in the grand scheme of things (so there).

Wait…where was I? Oh yeah, Thursday. I requested one of Mitch’s “specialties” which is a bean and chicken dip that can either be served with tortilla chips, or as a taco/burrito filling, which is what we did that night. The dip is known among Mitch’s friends as the “World-Famous Bean Dip” because, well, one of the guys started calling it that one football Sunday. And a tradition was born.

This is a great recipe on many levels. You can use any type of refried beans (we use the fat-free kind), omit the chicken or sub leftover chopped steak, add cheese, etc. It makes enough for a group or several meals if you’re cooking for one or two. A gorgeous-looking meal it’s not (nor is it low-sodium) but it is GOOD, cheap, healthy, and a snap to prepare.

Mitch’s World Famous Bean Dip

Ingredients:

  • 1 medium white onion, diced
  • 1/4 cup chopped pickled jalapenos (optional, but SO good)
  • 1/2 cup chopped red bell or Serrano pepper (optional)
  • 1 large or 2 small cans refried beans
  • 1 can chicken, flaked
  • 1/4 cup nonfat milk (add if using as a dip)
  • 1 cup low-fat shredded cheese (optional, or to taste)
  • to serve: tortilla chips or tortillas with taco/burrito fixings

Directions:

  1. Spray a medium pot with cooking spray and add onion. Cook a few minutes at medium heat until soft.
  2. Add jalapeno and bell peppers, if using, a cook a few more minutes.
  3. Add beans, chicken, (and milk if making dip); stir to combine.
  4. Add the cheese and stir until melted.
  5. If using as a taco/burrito filling, assemble and serve.
  6. If serving as a dip, Mitch usually keeps the dip warm on the stove and takes out a smallish amount at a time to serve. It’s not very good cold, but it goes fast so then he would just refill the bowl.

bean dip in bowl 

Not exactly a pretty meal, right? I think it looks much prettier wrapped in a whole-wheat tortillas and garnished with cilantro. It’d be better with mashed avocado, but I let Mitch use all the avocado we had because I had half of one with lunch I am such a wonderful girlfriend.

bean dip in taco

And my random thoughts/question for the night:

Has anyone had acupuncture before?

I’ve tried it once before, when I was having ankle problems and my regular doctor said I didn’t need physical therapy. I went a few times, but it didn’t seem to do anything.

I was having some weird lower-back pain/tightness last week, so I decided to give acupuncture another shot, especially since my health insurance includes acupuncture, but only until the end of the month (my job had to make some changes to our benefits). The pain is pretty much gone, but I want to keep the appointment anyway. Is that dumb? Should I cancel it since the problem has gone away? Part of me wants to see if I can bundle my services like the acupuncturist is a cable company: “While I’m here, can you help me with X Y and Z?” (I don’t have any major health issues, knock on wood, but I’m sure I could use some Qi balancing for something.)

I have little experience with “alternative” medicine, but it just seems to be obvious that the “Western” way of using drugs for everything can’t be the only way to go. I really want to learn more about alternative medicine, but I’m not sure where is the best place to start. There are a lot of snake-peddlers out there!

And with the world’s most random blog post, I’m off to bed…early gym date with the boy in the morning!

Responses

  1. I loooove the look of that bean dip. It sounds so good! I will have to try that for me and Chris sometime, it looks right up his alley too.

    I never feel anxious to see results from the gym. Mostly because I know I’m going to be going almost everyday for the rest of my life anyways… what’s the rush? 😛 I’m happy to hear having a gym buddy has worked out for you 🙂

    I’ve never had acupuncture before, I’m terrified of needles and anything sharp and pointy. My mom gets it regularly for her various ailments and loves it. I’m not sure if you need a specific “symptom” to benefit from it though…

  2. I love acupuncture. I don’t get it regularly b/c I am a poor college student BUT I love it. The first time I got it, I actually passed out. Apparently, my Qi was so out of whack that when the last needle was inserted, I had an energy overload and passed out. He took out the needle, and I woke up like nothing had happened. He put it in again and I was fine. Weird, right? I went because I would get a pain in my upper chest, above my heart when I exercised. It seemed to fix it. Not sure if it was the placebo effect or what but I don’t care. It was also incredibly relaxing. I actually did a research project on acupuncture in a science class and was amazed at what I learned. I think you do have to be in the right frame of mind and accepting of alternative medicines to really get the full effects.

    Oh, and Mitch’s world famous bean dip looks amazing. I will be incorporating it into our meal plan in the near future. Thank him for me!

  3. Bean dip looks awesome. I’ve started eating bean dip warm like mashed potatoes. No acupunture for me, but I know Caitlin (Healthy Tipping Point) does it.

  4. I tried acupuncture once but hated it, but if you’ve done it before and liked it I say go for it!

  5. The burrito looks AMAZING. I’ve never had acupuncture before, but i think the idea of “bundling your services” haha, is great. You may as well take advantage of someone’s knowledge, it’s not like they aren’t still getting paid!

  6. That looks delish – I’m gonna have to make it!

    Don’t get discouraged! You’re doing great! I SO know that feeling, but you are getting healthier and stronger (and probably happier) every time you work out, ya know?

  7. Hey Hallie! I’m heading over to the Hillcrest 24 hour fitness for a 4:30 24 lift class this afternoon, want to join me? Could be fun 🙂

  8. I think you should keep the appointment, you never know an additional treatment could help relieve the pain even more or stave off any pain that’s abrewing! 🙂

  9. […] Books & Burgers I ended up going to acupuncture yesterday, and I liked it…I mean, as much as you can like having needles stuck in you, I suppose. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

