Posted by: Hallie | June 18, 2009

Backs Books & Burgers

I ended up going to acupuncture yesterday, and I liked it…I mean, as much as you can like having needles stuck in you, I suppose. The doctor (they’re doctors, right?) is also a chiropractor, and she mentioned during the initial consultation that my hips are a bit out of alignment. Maybe that’s why I still have ankle problems? Anyway, I think I’m going to have one more acupuncture treatment for my wonky back and my sometimes-swollen ankle, and I’m going to think about going back for a chiropractic adjustment. I’ll admit, though, I’m afraid all that cracking and popping will HURT, so we’ll see.

In other news, I am becoming obsessed with Jillian Michaels…yes, totally jumping on that wagon just like I’ve been jumping on so many other bandwagons lately (example: the green smoothie I had for breakfast today). Her hour-long podcasts from her radio show are the perfect length for my morning hill walks with Nina, and I have so much respect for her and what she is trying to do. I really feel like each hour I listen, she either talks about something I’ve been struggling with, or a listener asks a question that I’ve been wondering about myself. I love the Jillian doesn’t make people feel bad or wrong for not following her advice, but she presents the information that she has for people to do with what they wish.

I really want to get her book Master Your Metabolism: The 3 Diet Secrets to Naturally Balancing Your Hormones for a Hot and Healthy Body because really, who wouldn’t want to do that? The other book I think I want to read is The Courage To Start: A Guide To Running for Your Life by John “The Penguin” Bingham because I love his blog on the Runner’s World website, and I really think I need some guidance in the running department. I’ve been running 3 to 3.5 miles at an 11- or 12-minute pace for months now, and I know I can improve. I love having a goal that is unrelated to “look hot in a halter top” (which is also a goal, I’ll admit) and I think increasing my speed and endurance are good goals to work on right now.

What are your favorite “health and fitness” books? Has anyone read either of the two I listed above…if so, thoughts?

Moving on to…eats! Mitch and I have some unhealthy eating days coming up this weekend (my bestie’s birthday shenanigans, San Diego Fair excursion, and an indulgent Father’s Day planned by the boys…yeah…), so I’m trying to mitigate the extra calories by extra workouts and super-healthy meals when I can. Tonight, for example, we grilled turkey burgers and served them on whole-wheat buns with a side of roasted green beans.

turkey burger and green beans

If you’ve never had roasted green beans, I highly recommend giving it a try. They are a great substitute for French fries, and if my boyfriend will admit that, you know they are good (the boy eats healthy, but he does love his fried treats!).

All you do is snip off each end of the fresh bean, drizzle with olive oil (or use a olive-oil spray for even fewer calories) and salt/pepper to taste, spread them in an even layer and roast at 425 degrees for about 25 minutes. Delicious, especially this time of year when green beans are so good (and cheap).

All right, time for bed. Getting up early (again!) for another before-work gym session. I was hoping to run tomorrow…but someone might have done a leg workout for the first time in forever, and learned that her quads are not as strong as she thought they were. I’ve been hobbling around like an 80-year-old woman for two days. And that whole “working out to release lactic acid” does NOT seem to work for me.

Hopefully I’ll be able to run on Saturday…because deep-fried Oreos taste better when you’ve earned them (just kidding…eww. I’ll eat fair food don’t get me wrong, but I do have my limits).

Responses

  1. The green beans look great. I have never read any of those books that you mentioned above, but I’m curious about them so be sure to let us know what you think!

    Nick and I have some unhealthy eating days coming up ourselves, especially when all the festivals start happening (aka, Jazz and Rib Fest and the North Market Beer Fest, yum)

  2. My favorite fitness book is “The New Rules of Lifting for Women”. It’s light and refreshing and informative! I love it!

  3. Those beans look amazing. I’ve only ever boiled or steamed green beans, I’ll definitely have to try this.

    http://smallchangesaddup.wordpress.com

  4. I have green beans at home and was just going to look up some recipes – awesome!

  5. Hi! I have read Mastering Your Metabolism…and am still reading it. It is a MAGNIFICENT book! I definitely recommend it. It completely opened my eyes to the crazy world of my hormones, and how certain foods make me feel better and act better.


Leave a Reply

Categories

