Posted by: Hallie | June 25, 2009

Wedding Weekend

No…not my wedding. Trust me, ya’ll would know if that was on the horizon.

Tomorrow, Mitch and I are driving to Merced, CA with Mitch’s dad and his wife. Mitch’s cousin is getting married, which we know means I get to wear a dress and eat cake. (Oh wait, it’s not all about me? Hmm…) I have about 4 episodes of Scrubs and 8 hours of Jillian Michaels podcasts plus the book The Courage to Start: A Guide to Running for Your Life to keep me occupied for the trips up and back.

I plan on working out in the hotel gym Saturday morning before the wedding. I also downloaded some free yoga podcasts off iTunes so hopefully I get a chance to try them out as well (the wedding doesn’t start until 4 and let’s just say this part of California is not exactly filled with excitement—I’ll have time to kill).

I’ve packed some healthy snacks and breakfast items for the trip. I might have to have breakfast with the family, but honestly, I’d rather just eat a bowl of oatmeal in our hotel room and save the money (and calories).
trip food

  • hummus (garlic and chive flavor)
  • green tea
  • Clif nectar bar (my favorite flavor)
  • bananas
  • peanut butter
  • assorted vegetables
  • plus, Mitch is bringing whole wheat bagels and an avocado

This is a short trip, or I probably would have packed even more. We’ll have a mini-fridge and a coffee maker in our room, but no microwave.

What are your favorite snacks to bring on weekend/road trips? How do you avoid overdoing it at events like weddings?

I’m going to try to go with the “worth it” rule: avoid eating the boring, everyday foods like rolls or rice, and splurge on the good stuff…like champagne and dessert! And I’m also going to try to ignore the food and focus on the company I’m with. However, I don’t know Mitch’s extended family that well, and sometimes when I get social anxiety, I eat. But all I can do is the best I can…that’s all any of us can do, right?

Have a great weekend, friends!

Responses

  1. I am all about bringing a cooler full of snacks on trips. I always say to myself “we’ll eat these instead of paying for food” but a lot of times we don’t end up doing so. I am going on a trip next week and I plan on packing a lot of snacks:

    banana, granola, apples, yogurt

    It’s just one day so I won’t need a whole lot. My goal is to NOT SPEND ANY MONEY ON FOOD!!! This time I am going to stick with it!

    Have fun at the wedding!

  2. I always do the “worth it” rule too. I’ll splurge if it’s something I absolutely love, have never tried, or could never get on any other occasion. Generic sweets and high-cal dishes (like white cakes or pasta salad) I usually pass on.

    Good call on all the snacks! My family are a 2-3 big meals a day type people, whereas I do smaller, more frequent meals. So I always need to have snacks in my purse. The usual stuff, bars, fruit, cheese, nuts, crackers, etc.

    Have fun!!! 🙂

  3. I love weddings! I just went to one last weekend 🙂 My favorite road trip snacks include bars (lara, kashi, etc) and cut up veggies (cucumber, bell pepper, carrots).

  4. Glad you’ve got the hummus!! Looks like a great stash!

    At events I eat what I want but eat small portions. That way nothing is ‘off limits’ and I can enjoy myself 🙂 Have fun!

  5. I always bring some fruit, fresh and dried – just so I’ve got something to snack on later in the evening – I rarely need it but sometimes I do get snacky!

  6. New reader here!

    I’m the same way about splurging on foods. They HAVE to be either something I can’t make myself, something I know will be great or have been wanting to try.

    I’m the same way about bring foods, my purse almost always has a secret stash of bars or raw almond.

    Hotel room oatmeal rocks!

  7. hope you have fun at the wedding!!

    I hate how ppl resort to eating out (junk) so much when they go on vacation/take a trip. When I go out of town I always pack stuff to take with me, including energy bars and instant oatmeal packs and even fruit – its soooooo hard to eat healthy when everyone around seems likes its the last thing on thier minds – gluck! and have fun!

  8. have fun!!

    LOVE wedding season 😉

  9. […] Cooks, He Cleans! Back from Central California! We had a really nice time at the wedding. There was definitely some splurging in the food category, but I did manage to eat healthy […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

