Posted by: Hallie | July 31, 2009

Testing the Hypotheses with Friendship Bread

Hey ya’ll, thanks for reading/commenting on my last post. It made me feel a lot better to know that some of you get jealous of other people sometimes too, and I especially appreciate the encouraging words about my weight loss efforts (and yay for a few lurkers coming out! Hope you stick around!). I started my new program last week, and I’m going to take some time over the weekend to process my thoughts about it so far and give you guys the scoop. I’ve never done anything like this before, and I know I’ll need all the support I can get!

So yesterday, we had an all-staff meeting, and it was my department’s turn to bring in treats and coffee. I was working on a baking project and, knowing I wouldn’t be able to eat the fruits of my labor on my new program, I decided to bring in my experimental baked goods for my coworkers.

I baked two loaves of Amish Friendship Bread after I was given a starter by a coworker; her bread was delicious! It tasted like a cinnamon muffin. When she gave me the recipe and I saw “one cup of oil,” I knew I was going to try to give it some Healthy Twists. And oh man, Twist I did!

Never heard of Amish Friendship Bread? I consulted the Google about it, and it turns out Mrs. Healthy Blogger Tina (Carrots N Cake) made it awhile back herself, so you can read her post for details. I also consulted this blog that gave me some great tips.

I made a ton of substations to the original recipe. I used half whole-wheat pastry flour and half cake flour (all I had), I used 1/2 cup of applesauce instead of 1/2c of oil, I used sugar-free Jello pudding mix, and cut the sugar to just over half a cup (um, I ran out). Oh if that’s not enough, in one loaf I threw a ton of blueberries, and in the other I added half an apple, chopped, and about 1/3c chopped walnuts.

The result of my experimentation? Check it out:

amish bread

Yeah…pretty, it’s not. It was all sunken and when I took it out of the pan, it almost totally fell apart, it was so moist. As in, I thought I undercooked it. As in, I almost threw it out. Then I remembered that my coworkers will eat just about anything, especially if it’s homemade. At least, that was my theory. I decided to test this theory out, rather than waste the ingredients by throwing it away.

I brought in the two loaves and watched people devour my crazy concoction.

Folks, it wasn’t bread. It was like bread pudding, or French toast that was left in the batter too long. It was actually pretty tasty (I sampled it at work…whoops) but the texture was SO weird. And not a crumb was left at the end of the meeting.

Do you bring in your cooking/baking experiments to work? Do your coworkers (or friends, or family) prove or disprove my theory, “free baked goods will never go uneaten, regardless of quality.”

Responses

  1. My co-workers love tasting my baking and experiments. Bring anything to the teacher’s lounge and we will eat it!

  2. When I bake, and there is extra, I share!! It’s just an instinct, I love to share my food. Sometimes I am a hypocrite though because I complain when there is always food around, ya know? I just need to get better at saying no, or just deal with it!

  3. mmmm…it still sounds good!

  4. Haha, I always have to taste test my creations before I feed it to other people. Bringing it in was brave of you!!! I bring in food to work all the time. My coworkers will also eat anything 😛

  5. In my office, anything edible will never, EVER go to waste, no matter what it is, what time of the day it’s put out or how long it’s been sitting there. 😛 The bread sounds awesome! I probably wouldn’t want to bring it in because I wouldn’t want it to be wasted on our greedy interns. (just kidding…maybe)

  6. OMG – my mom gave me some Amish Friendship bread a few months back. It was like a giant cinnamon bread/doughnut/pastry –oozing with goodness — only I barely got to eat any as my bf attacked it.
    I passed it along to friends hoping I’d eventually get it back — no such luck.


Leave a Reply

Categories

