Posted by: Hallie | February 18, 2009

I’m a Winner, Baby!

I won one of the prizes for Banana Nut Cheerios contest held by The Healthy Hostess. I seriously NEVER win anything, so I was so excited! I’ll be sure to post my review of the cereal. I hope I like it, because Mitch has already declared he won’t help me out with it (not a huge banana fan in the form of bread, muffins, etc).

THANKS ALI!!

Earlier tonight, I picked up my CSA produce after a great session at the gym. (side note: it’s amazing how a workout just makes you feel great. I know I work out almost more for the mental benefits as much as the physical ones.)

  • Apples
  • Beets
  • Broccoli
  • Cabbage
  • Baby Bok Choy
  • Carrots
  • Kale (hello, BSI)
  • Lettuce
  • Oranges
  • Parsley
  • Strawberries (A.MAZING)

csa feb 18

I have so many vegetables to eat! That’s a good problem to have, I suppose.

Nudging Your Loved Ones to Health?

I came across this article, and I wanted to know what other people thought about it.

How to Nudge|Changemakers

The article gives tips on how to influence others to adopt healthy habits or quit unhealthy ones. While I think some of the tips might be useful, in general I think people make their own decisions and being “nudged” by others rarely works.

An overweight, sedentary person knows s/he should eat better and exercise. Cigarette smokers know it’s an unhealthy, gross habit. And I’m not saying making the healthy choice is always easy (as I look to the empty ice cream bowl to my right) but I don’t know if “nudging” adults can really make a difference. I can think of plenty of people in my life I’d like to “nudge” to do certain things for their health, but unless they want to make those choices themselves, will it do any good?

But I guess sometimes you have to try. Last year, I confronted someone in my family whose drinking I thought was getting excessive. I was nervous about it, about how this person would react. I knew all I could do was state my opinion. Luckily, they agreed to cut back on the alcohol. If the person didn’t agree with me, or at least see why I might be concerned, I know the drinking would have continued. 

Have you ever tried to influence a friend or family member’s lifestyle choices? How did you do it? Was it successful?


Responses

  1. I find the best way to ‘nudge’ family members is to just not bother them. I just go on with my healthy habits and they see how great it has been to me and sometimes I’ve seen them make baby steps in their own life to go towards the better direction.

  2. Wonderful CSA load!!

    I never try to impose my own lifestyle on others – if they want to adopt certain habits, then that’s THEIR decision.

  3. HOORAY for CSA’s!
    I’ve definitely successfully nudged my fiances eating habits… he’s lost almost 50 lbs!

    Oh, you might want to check out my blog entry today 😉

  4. great looking produce.

    My sister can not cook for herself, so when she asks me too I just add a little bit of healthier swaps. She doesn’t know the difference.

  5. yay – congrats!!

  6. I LOVE your new avatar (is that what they are called!) So lovely!!!

    Ive added ya to my blogroll 🙂 Love your blog!

  7. I find that the closer the person is to you, the easier it is to nudge. Not that I ever have a problem giving anyone my opinion, of course 🙂 But usually a healthy dose of guilt has at least a small effect “honey don’t you want to be around to see our kids graduate high school and college and get married???” And not that I wish it on anyone, but Billy’s dad having a heart attack just before Christmas definitely gave us both a nudge toward healthier habits. Arteries don’t clog overnight, the clog my FIL had probably started when he was my husband’s age so that was a pretty good motivator.


Leave a comment

Categories