Posted by: Hallie | May 15, 2009

Banana-Mango Green Smoothie, Please!

As part of Project Eat All the Costco Spinach, I decided to make green smoothies for breakfast this week. I used the basic “Green Monster” recipe that Angela at Oh She Glows has made so very popular. And it’s popular for a reason: they taste great and I really did feel healthy starting my day off with all that nutrition!

My version of the “Green Monster” (is that like a Green Flash?) includes:

  • 1/2 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk*
  • 1 smallish, RIPE banana
  • 1 tbsp ground flax
  • ~1 cup ice
  • ~1.5-2 cups spinach
  • 1/2 cup frozen mango (makes it SO creamy and sweet!)

(*Mitch says soy/almond milk shouldn’t be called “milk” because soybeans and almonds don’t have nipples)

I blend the almond milk and spinach together for about 30 seconds, and then add the rest of the ingredients and blend again until smooth. We have a pretty sad blender that’s ridiculously loud so I feel a little bad making smoothies early in the morning, but they are certainly worth the pain to my eardrums.

green bkfast

I can’t just have a smoothie for breakfast, so I’ve been having a piece of toast with almond butter. (I always buy the unsalted raw almond butter from Trader Joe’s, but this jar was the most raw-tasting jar I’ve had, if that makes any sense. It’s like the almonds weren’t ground as finely or something. Not bad…just different…)

Phew! I finally got to posting a blog. Does anyone else feel pressure to “keep up with the Joneses” when it comes to blogging? I feel bad sometimes that I don’t post every day. I just have to remember that this blog is my creative outlet and a way to interact with like-minded bloggers/readers, and it’s not important enough to sacrifice things like sleep or boyfriend time.

However, I would like to blog more frequently, provided I feel like I have something worthwhile to say. I have some fun weekend plans on the schedule (and one, not exactly fun, but a necessary task in order to do something else that will be fun…how cryptic is that?) but instead of blabbing about them now, I’m going to keep them a secret and therefore be motivated to write timely wrap-up posts!

You’re Welcome. 😉


Responses

  1. Hmm…I’m beginning to think I’m the only one who doesn’t like green monsters. I made it the same way as you (minus the mango) and thought it just tasted like bitter bananas.

    Blogging has just become so much of a habit for me. I think I’d be kind of lost if I didn’t do a wrap-up at the end of every day!

  2. That green monster is so vibrant!! Looks great!

    As far as blogging goes, I’ve just fallen into a routine to post every morning. It took me a while to get into that rut but that’s just me – blog what you want, when you want!

  3. Your green monster is the most gorgeous color!! Mine almost always come out the color of poop. Might be the strawberries!

  4. Wow that is one GREEN smoothie! Yes, sometimes I feel pressure to keep up on the blogging, but I always know that if I don’t blog it’s not a really big deal. If I’m too busy, I’ll just post another day!

  5. YUM!!! I love green smoothies – major deliciousness and nutrition! 🙂

    Cheers,
    Kristen

  6. I totally feel pressure to blog! I put it on my to-do list and even though I love my blog, it def. stresses me out sometimes. Then I remember I can blog when I want, and don’t need to put this false pressure on myself!

    I am buying almond milk today so I can try one of these, finally.

    LOL @ Mitch’s comment. “I have nipples, Greg, could you milk me?” 😉

  7. […] Hallie blogs about her first green monster […]


Leave a comment

Categories